Skip to content
Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Wanderings with my Camera: Taking a Break from Writing, Editing and Forensics.

August 7, 2017

It’s been a long hot summer so far – it is raining now – and I’ve been stuck inside most of the time writing and working on edits, so it cannot be any surprise that now and again I break free.

I’ve recently completed an Archaeology course and my 7th Forensics and Criminal Justice Course and have felt the need to get out into the countryside and enjoy the lighter things in life.

I love walking and always have my camera ready to capture things I enjoy seeing, and for making visual notes for stories I am working on, or might work on in the future.

It is amazing how a certain location or house can get the creative juices working.

I thought I’d share some of my walks here.

These are not from my ‘official’ jollies which I post about from time to time – I am working on those and will post more of them as soon as I get the chance. For  those who enjoy looking at the photos and reading about the places I visit it won’t be long…

I am very fortunate to live near some fabulous gardens, woods and lake areas and walking there is always a wonderful experience.  I hope you like my photos.

One area I love to walk was once open farmland when I was a child. I’ve been away many years and going back to what had become gravel pits (where gravel is extracted) in later years, where one could walk and enjoy fishing in the waters which had filled the pits, was a surprise. There are now many lakes with all sorts of water sports taking place there and the land around the lakes has become lush and green with mature trees and hedgerows. All manner of wild-life now occupies the area. Such a delight and so peaceful. I have walked the 4 miles around one lake and not seen another person.

These were taken in local parks and gardens. These gardens and lake views (below) are from a Royal Park and Gardens.

Most are free to enter and often there isn’t a parking fee either. Thousands of acres to wander and enjoy. 

                                                                                                                                 

I can’t help wondering what lies beneath the woods and if there was a ‘dig’ what would be found.

Some of my walks are through what is ancient woodland, hunting grounds of Kings of England and the sites of many famous battles.

One walk along the Thames at Windsor was a delight and I enjoyed a 2 hour boat trip along the Thames too.

These walks are very inspirational and I often get my ideas for stories whilst wandering and taking photos. Other times I’ll  take a series of photos of a particular area or view which I will use as a visual aid (note) which I can refer back to when trying to create an image for a scene in a story.

I’m not a written note-taker. I may draw a map so I know who lives where in a town or village I am creating, and sometime I make a note of names and a few physical characteristics as I am dreadful when it comes to recalling who some characters are! Especially in a series I am writing, I have to remember to use new names, what they look like and their likes and dislikes and I cannot always keep it all in my head.

I hope you enjoy these photos. Thanks for dropping in. I shall be catching up on my ‘official jollies’ in the near future. Have a fabulous week and summer wherever you are. 

All Photos (c) Jane Risdon 2017 and All Rights Reserved.

 

https://thewritersnewsletter.com/happy-birthday-writers-newsletter/

My latest offering. A two part short story called The Secret of Willow Cottage (The Tale of the Reluctant Bride) this month and next month (September) you can read The Tale of The Jilted Lover – part two. If you enjoy a mystery and pirates – then the two part short story is for you. Let me know.

From → Blog

15 Comments
  1. Tina Jaray permalink

    Fantastic photos, really lovely.
    And I just don’t know how you have time to do all the things you do. I feel exhausted just reading about them.
    You are amazing 🙂
    Tina

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tina, thanks so much. I try to make the most of life – we are only here for the blink of an eye. Glad you like the photos, I try and take as many as I can wherever I go. So happy to see you here, always appreciated. 🙂 xx

      Like

  2. Lovely photos! My compliments. I’m also impressed with the courses you are taking.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jeff permalink

    Love your blog and your excursions, Jane. Don’t worry about having trouble remembering new caracter names, and all. We ALL go through that.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Love this blog great to read and to see the lovely photos

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wow, those are some lovely ‘photos, Jane! I don’t blame you one bit for wanting to get out and enjoy nature a bit after all of the hard work you’ve been doing. I admire you for being so industrious.

    Liked by 3 people

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Wanderings with my Camera: Taking a Break from Writing, Editing and Forensics. |

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

