Skip to content

Summer Wanders Around Only One Woman and Other Stories

July 25, 2017

It’s been a while since I posted a ‘Jolly’ and I must apologise. It was my intention to post Part Three of  Hardwick Hall towards the end of June – and I shall I get around to it, but not for a little while longer.

Hardwick Hall (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Apologies if you have waited for it and several other ‘jollies’ I’ve enjoyed of late. I need to write them and post as promised. 

If you have not read any of my ‘Jollies,’ go to my blog menu and blog, and you can scroll down to find them there. Hardwick Hall is a good place to begin.

Hardwick Hall Part two: http://wp.me/p2dg55-34z

Hardwick Hall Part one: http://wp.me/p2dg55-3cA

I’ve been remiss because I (we – Christina Jones and I) have been in edit hell.

 Edit Hell

I’m sure by now it hasn’t escaped those who pop in here often that way back when, author and old mate Christina Jones and I wrote a novel together, set in the late 1960s – the era when we first met. Although fictional, we’ve used many of our common experiences with music, fashion and the general vibe of those times to co-write

Only One Woman.

(not a crime story for a change)

The late 1960s were magical times and going back has been both fun and emotional for us both; revisiting one’s youth and all that goes with it.

Christina and I thought we’d finished with edits for Only One Woman a while back, and she has worked on her new book, and I’ve completed a number short stories for various anthologies and continuing work on a new book as well – when things changed at our Publishers.

Cutting a long story short, edits arrived on my desk  a few weeks ago and I’ve had my head down ever since. Such fun. Thankfully I was able to hand the MS on to Christina and now she is in edit hell. Hugs for her.

It is really strange jumping from one story to another and back again, and from one genre to another. It’s even stranger when your story (book) takes place in another era. It is a huge ask to have to put your head around events and characters you’d already put to one side and moved on from.

I’ve been working on short stories for three different anthologies: two crime and one ghost story.

In addition to writing stories for anthologies, I’ve been busy with writing for a couple of on-line newsletters and magazines, which has been great fun.

Two of the anthologies have been nominated for Summer Indie Book Awards 2017. They are: Con’s Dames and G-men (A Stab in the Dark Writers Circle) – my story is called Cue Murder, and Ghostly Writes Anthology 2016 (Plaisted Publishing) and my story is called The Beneficiaries of Secret Cottage.

Image may contain: text

Three of my Flash Fiction pieces have been recorded by voice over actors as well. It’s a thrill hearing something you’ve written being read back by actors with your ‘character’s’ voice. See Audio Stories on my menu if you want to listen in. 

http://wp.me/P2dg55-37l

I’m also working on two Ms Birdsong Investigates novels (sequels to the one with my publisher at the moment – fingers crossed) which of course is in the crime/thriller genre set in the modern-day.

Ms Birdsong Investigates: Murder in Ampney Parva (book one) with my publisher sees Ms B retired from MI5 and longing for the old days…she gets more than she bargained for with Russian Mafia, Ukrainian Drug and Gun Runners and – well you’ll find out when it’s published.

Ms Birdsong Investigates: Murder at the Observatory (book two) which I am working on now. Inspired by a birthday jolly to Herstmonceaux Observatory.

and then book three: Ms Birdsong Investigates: The Safe House, which I am also working on (I am a masochist) inspired by a family wedding at a country estate which it transpires, is a Safe House.

Then along comes Only One Woman again…

In all the heat of the past few weeks I’ve been slogging it out at the keyboard, editing and adding new chapters. It was a long book before we had to start work on it again and cripes, it’s like War and flipping Peace now. I’m sure a lot of it will end up on the cutting room floor before the novel sees the light of day in November. I hope not, I think it is really good and the additions should make it even more readable, but then I would!

This summer it is the 50th anniversary of The Summer of Love (1967) and although Only One Woman is set in 1968/69 there was still a lot of the magical vibe around a year or two later. So many changes in the world – monumental world events, and of course the music and fashions were just divine. Most people who were there back then would agree I am sure.

Our edits will be back with our editor in about a week and no doubt we shall be hearing from her. In the meantime everything is crossed that we manage the November 21st 2017 publication date. Just in time for Christmas.  

Christina Jones is an award-winning author of over 30 novels and you can find her at:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Christina-Jones/e/B001K8U57Y

I managed to escape a couple of times to go for some walks around lakes, beside rivers, and in the countryside, just to keep from going nuts. I’ll post a few photos.  

I shall be back with Part Three of Hardwick Hall and my other jollies as soon as I can.

Meantime some photos – where I walk when I need peace and quiet.  All photos (c) Jane Risdon 2017 All rights Reserved.

         

  So peaceful here and watching the wild-life is wonderful. Oh, and it isn’t me on the surf board.

From → Blog

5 Comments
  1. Tina Jaray permalink

    Longing, longing, longing for Only One Woman, and also for the Ms Birdsong stories.
    All your hard work will have been worthwhile when your readers (like me) laugh, cry and love your stories.
    Tina Jaray
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your support Tina, always valued and appreciated. Both are with the publisher – at last, OOW edits done we hope. Ms B – fingers crossed they take it. xx

      Like

  2. You’ve certainly been busy, Jane! I’m glad you have gotten out for a few things; those ‘photos are gorgeous. And I know what you mean about editing… *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Summer Wanders Around Only One Woman and Other Stories |

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

