Skip to content

Doris Day, Sarah Weller, Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club, and me: the last of my 2015 birthday bashes

April 3, 2017

2015 I had a fab belated birthday bash at Ronnie Scott’s in Soho, London in honour of Doris Day’s 91st birthday. It now seems she s 2 years older than she thought and today is her 95th. Happy birthday Doris. If you fancy reading about my bash and the superb singer Sarah Weller at Ronnie Scott’s, drop over to my blog. 🙂

Jane Risdon

Doris Day: Public DomainDoris Day – public domain

“I like joy; I want to be joyous. 

I want to smile and I want to make people laugh. 

And that’s all I want.  I like being happy.  I want to make others happy.” Doris Day.

Sarah Weller celebrates Doris Day's 91st birthday. Photo: Carl HydeSarah Weller celebrates Doris Day’s 91st birthdayPhoto: Carl Hyde. Courtesy of Sarah Weller.

“I’ll remember this to my grave.  We all walked into a room to see the screen tests.  The first screen test was Marion Hutton’s. Then came Janis Paige [who ended up with a part in the film].  Then on the screen came Doris Day.  I can only tell you, the screen just exploded. There was absolutely no question.  A great star was born and the rest is history.” – Sammy Cahn

The second part of my birthday bash this year was a total surprise – a well-kept secret;  nothing was revealed to me as we…

View original post 4,942 more words

From → Blog

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

