Skip to content

Nicky Wells Brook Cottage Books Blog Tour: My Guest today – She’s Rocked herself into Crime Writing

March 9, 2017

Dead Hope Blog Tour

Today I am pleased to host Nicky Wells on my blog as part of her Brook Cottage Books Blog Tour.

I first ‘met’ her on-line on Facebook a few years ago

when she was asking for advice about Rock bands touring and recording for a book she was writing:

Sophie’s Encore…from her Rock Star Trilogy.

I stepped forward and offered advice, we got nattering, as you do – we both love music, rock especially.

I have guested on her blog and we’ve been nattering ever since.

So I am chuffed she has turned to Crime writing and is here today.

Let’s find out about Nicky:

Leaving the romance behind…?

Romance has been my genre ever since I crashed onto the scene in July 2011. And not just any old romance, romance with rock stars. Because I love my golden-voiced bad boys with their mind-blowing voices and secret soft hearts. For five years, I poured all my love and adoration into a succession of novels and novellas, as a result of which I have seven published works to my name. That’s about six more than I had ever dared hope, and still the ideas kept coming.

However. (You knew there was a ‘but’, didn’t you?)

Just when I was starting to feel a little cornered in my niche, life threw one of these tiny wrinkles at me that simultaneously flooded me with ideas for other stuff and enabled me to see beyond my self-imposed fictional horizon. It was one of those blinding ‘aha’ moments after which nothing is ever quite the same.

That said, when I first conceived of what is now DEAD HOPE, it was meant to be a romantic comedy and yes, it still sort of had a rock star in. It was going to be called “Deep Cover” and was going to transplant my rock star from his normal glittering habitat into a rural backwater to hide from… something. I had all the comedy moments worked out, all the mishaps and bizarre incidents that would befall a rock god cruelly ripped from his privileged surroundings and dumped in ‘real life’. The only problem was, I hadn’t quite worked out how he’d have got there. And why would he go along with the charade in the first place?

I went back to the drawing board (I’m an OCD planner, me) and came up with scenarios to drive the story. I allowed myself to really think out of the box, and soon my ideas grew darker and more sinister. I bade farewell to the comedy and said hello to the romantic suspense. Oh yes, and I also bade farewell to the rock star hero (that was a Big Step!) and introduced a leading lady instead who, while the daughter of a famous rock star couple, isn’t a celebrity in her own right.

So far, so good. I was excited about this turn of events. I could handle a heroine. I could get used to relegating the rock star theme to the backstory. It made sense. It was different. I felt energised.

But the evolution wasn’t over. When I started writing, I discovered a burning curiosity for the darker details that would weave my story together. The forensics, the court procedures, the police processes. I started researching, interviewed some knowledgeable people, and started fleshing out the crime aspects. I accumulated a lot more knowledge than I needed for the project, but it’s all stored for future reference. And meanwhile I got so engrossed that without me noticing at first, the novel turned itself on its head and became a thriller. Of course, I didn’t kill the romantic element (see what I did there?) and the romance subplot continues to move events forward, but the emphasis had shifted, and I liked it. So much so, in fact, that before I even finished writing, I had not one but two more thrillers planned, each one getting a little bit more thrillery than the one before.

I shouldn’t have been surprised at my nascent desire to turn my writing hands to thrillers, really. I read crime and thrillers by the truckload. Lee Child, David Baldacci, Kathy Reichs, Tim Weaver, Robert Ludlum, Sue Grafton, Jeffery Deaver, John Grisham, Dean Koontz… the list goes on and on. And on! And who knows… maybe you all will eventually add me to your library of thriller writers. I’d love to know!

P.S. I forgot to answer one tiny unasked question. Will I never write romance again? Of course not. Never say never! I have a little black book full of ideas, and they all want to be written. Some are thrillers, some are romance and, if you really want to know, there are a few children’s books in me as well. Watch this space! 

DEAD HOPE

by

NICKY WELLS

Dead Hope Nicky Wells

Genre: Thriller/Romantic Suspense

Release Date: 23 February 2017

Cat Hope doesn’t want to go to prison. She needs a job, and she needs it fast: judge’s orders. Caught in a drugs raid while trying to dull the pain of her parents’ deathaversary, Cat is serving a ‘rehab’ sentence under a new identity in the deepest depths of rural nowhere.

Kay Mahon, office worker by day and hacker by night, is on the run from a past life that he’d rather not remember.

When their paths cross, they discover that the night that derailed Cat’s future nineteen long years ago also changed the path of Kay’s life. Confused and intrigued, they begin to investigate the truth behind the deaths of the successful rock star couple Jackie and Adam Hope. Little do they know that their quest is putting Cat in grave danger.

After Cat goes missing, Kay finally puts the pieces together. But how is he going to find Cat and her abductor in a place as big as London before it is too late?

BUY LINKS

Amazon Kindle UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dead-Hope-thrilling-suspense-romance-ebook/dp/B06WD89J1V/

Paperback UK: http://amzn.to/2lh5ZT8

Amazon Kindle US: https://www.amazon.com/Dead-Hope-thrilling-suspense-romance-ebook/dp/B06WD89J1V/

Paperback US: http://amzn.to/2kGKJaK

 

ABOUT NICKY WELLS

Author Nicky Wells

About Nicky Wells: Love & Thrills 

Nicky Wells writes captivating romance and breathtaking thrillers featuring famous (or infamous!) feisty heroes and extraordinary villains. DEAD HOPE is her eighth book and the first published novel in her “Wake Up Dead” themed thriller series, with the next two books scheduled for release through the course of 2017 and 2018. Nicky has previously published seven works of romantic fiction both with US publishing house, Sapphire Star Publishing, and independently. 

Born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993 and currently lives in Lincoln with her husband and their two boys. She loves listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When she’s not writing, she’s hopelessly addicted to reading crime novels by the truck load. 

 Nicky all the best with your new genre and books and thanks so much for being here today, it’s been a blast!

Do leave Nicky your comments and she’ll drop in and answer them all through this week.

Jane x

DEAD HOPE Links

KINDLE

UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dead-Hope-thrilling-suspense-romance-ebook/dp/B06WD89J1V/

US: https://www.amazon.com/Dead-Hope-thrilling-suspense-romance-ebook/dp/B06WD89J1V/

PAPERBACK:

UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dead-Hope-Nicky-Wells/dp/1542376157/

US: https://www.amazon.com/Dead-Hope-Nicky-Wells/dp/1542376157/

NICKY’S BOOKS:

Sophie’s Turn | Sophie’s Run | Sophie’s Encore | Spirits of Christmas

| Fallen for Rock | Fairy Tale in New York | Seven Years Bad Sex 

JOIN NICKY:

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon | Goodreads | Pinterest | Google+

GIVEAWAY

Prize 1: £10.00 Amazon voucher and 1 signed bookmark

Prize 2: £5.00 Amazon voucher and 1 pen

Prize 3: 1 mug, 1 signed bookmark, 1 pen

Prize 4: 1 mug

5 runner up prizes: signed bookmarks

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4be03017215/?

 

Dead Hope Giveaways

Dead Hope Giveaways                                                                                                                                                                     Blog Tour Dates: 27th February
Brook Cottage Books
–  Celtic Connexions
Victoria’s Pages of Romance
Date: 28th February
Best Chick Lit
Date: 1st March
Jo Lambert
Date: 2nd March
– Rachel Brimble
– Ali The Dragon Slayer
– Read Along With Sue
Date: 3rd March
Simona’s Corner of Dreams
Comet Babes Books
Date: 6th March
Vikbat
Date: 7th March
Coral McCallum
Date: 8th March
Pauline Barclay
A Chance to Blog
Date: 9th March
– Jane Ridson
Date: 10th March
Fiction Dreams
Rachel’s Random Reads

 JB Johnston (Debbie Johnston)
Writer, Book Reviewer, promoter and Book tour coordinator.
Shortlisted for Romance Blogger of the Year 2013 (Festival of Romance)Brook Cottage Books  LinkedIn   Facebook Twitter Author Services

From → Blog

16 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog and commented:
    Meet author Nicky Wells as she makes a stop on Jane Risdon’s blog as part of her blog tour.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jfredlee permalink

    Thanks for putting up this interview, Jane. LOL! I can see why you two are best buds. The affection and the talent you each possess came roaring through. Thanks again for a really good read.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh thanks for that Jeff, and for dropping in, always welcome here and love your little comments and insights to all things LaLa Land. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your lovely comment, and for taking the time to read the interview, it’s very nice to meet you too. Reckon I can tempt you with DEAD HOPE? If so, Happy Reading! 🙂 X

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Good morning, Jane! Thank you so much for putting me in the spotlight on your lovely blog today. I feel quite the celebrity here, especially after your glowing introduction. Thank you also for being part of my journey, and for your plentiful and colourful advice on all things rock along the way.

    I hope your readers enjoy meeting me and finding out about Dead Hope. Happy reading to everyone who picks up a copy, and I’ll be popping back throughout the day to see if there are any questions and to chat. As Jane says, I love a good natter, me!

    Good luck to everyone entering the giveaway, and do get in touch with your thoughts on my first thriller; I’ll look forward to hearing from you.

    Have a great day and rock on,
    Love
    Nicky x 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Nicky, not glowing at all. I am reading Dead Hope now and thoroughly enjoying it. Do pop in throughout the week, as I usually leave guest posts up for a week. I hope this is successful for you. Have a fab week and rock on too 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • My pleasure Nicky, You are always welcome here. Wishing you much success. I am reading Dead Hope now and thoroughly enjoying it. I hope you will pop back throughout the week as this will be here for that period of time. Thanks for your good wishes, Ms Birdsong Investigates is with my publisher now. Fingers crossed. But it an’t come out until Only One Woman has done its thing. 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Nicky Wells Brook Cottage Books Blog Tour: My Guest today – She’s Rocked herself into Crime Writing |

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

