Skip to content

Another Jolly: the lull before the storm – Mevagissy and Fowey Cornwall

October 6, 2016
Mevagissy, Cornwall. (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Mevagissy, Cornwall. (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Those of you who pop in here regularly know that in addition to writing related posts, I often include photos and information about my ‘jollies,’ – my trips out and about this beautiful country.

It’s been a hectic time for me of late. I needed a short break to recharge my batteries and when an old school friend invited me to stay with her, I couldn’t resist.

Mevagissy (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Mevagissy (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Mevagissy (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Mevagissy (c) Jane Risdon 2016

I will get to the ‘jolly’ in a while.

Not only have I been beavering away at Ms Birdsong Investigates (getting there, I promise) and other projects in the pipeline,

I also have the honour to be included in several anthologies of short stories. 

My story, Haunting Melody

will be published on October 20th 2016

in

Madame Movara’s Tales of Terror

which is a 300 page collection of some fabulous short stories by 29 authors, including yours truly.

Hardback and Paperback editions (limited). Paperback has two different covers from which to chose.

Hardback and Paperback editions (limited). Paperback has two different covers from which to choose.

Ghostly Writes Anthology Oct 2016 Plaisted Publishing

Ghostly Writes Anthology Oct 2016 Plaisted Publishing

The book is in aid of Save The Children

and is published for hard and Paper back for a limited period only.

Madame Movara has been graced with a foreword by Hammer Horror Icon and former Bond girl,

Caroline Munro.

My inspiration for this story, which starts on Big Bear Mountain, California, comes from a true experience in a recording studio some time back.

Going up Big Bear

Going up Big Bear

Caroline Munro

Caroline Munro

There will be Limited editions of the Hardback and Paperback copies available, illustrated throughout. 

The paperback version has two different covers from which to chose.

Madam Movara’s Tales of Terror is already available via Lulu.com

*****

Later in October one of my short stories is to be published in another anthology which is FREE.

Ghostly Writes anthology is published by Plaisted Publishing and features many fabulous stories including mine:

The Beneficiaries of Secret Cottage.

Be careful what you wish for when an unknown relation dies and bequeaths you all their world goods.

The Beneficiaries of Secret Cottage

The Beneficiaries of Secret Cottage

Ghostly Writes Anthology Plaisted Publishing

Ghostly Writes Anthology Plaisted Publishing

It is possible this will also be in paperback. Details as soon as I have more.

*****

In November there’s another anthology, more in keeping with my writing as a Crime writer, which I have been included in:

A Stab in the Dark: Cons, Dames and G Men.

A Stab in the Dark: Cons, Dames and G Men

A Stab in the Dark: Cons, Dames and G Men

There are in excess of 16 authors contributing stories and mine is called:

Cue Murder.

Set in the 1930s of Hollywood and the Movie business.

Inspired by the death of The Mexican Spitfire, Lupe Velez with whom Elizabeth Risdon, one of my husband’s aunts, appeared in many movies.

The Mexican Spitfire

The Mexican Spitfire

The anthology is a tribute to The Golden Age of Detection and Film Noir.

And it is FREE and will be for Kindle. More details to follow as soon as I have them.

A Stab in the Dark anthology including my story, Cue Murder.

A Stab in the Dark anthology including my story, Cue Murder.

More details about all these publications later in the month. Do keep an eye out.

*****

So as you can see I really needed to take a break.

Cornwall is gorgeous any time of the year.

I’ve spent many years in the county visiting friends, working and visiting many

National Trust properties and gardens. This trip I didn’t have time for such visits.

The weather was amazing considering Autumn had just started.

There was only one wet, cold, and windy day but I didn’t mind, we stayed in and nattered and caught up with all the news.

It’s been a while since we’ve been in the same country at the same time.

We had a lovely visit to Mevagissy where I used to spend a great deal of time some years ago.

I found it more crowded than it had been before, even though the ‘season’ is more or less over.

I hope you like some of the photos I took of the fishing village.

View from my window to the left (c) Jane Risdon 2016

View from my window to the left (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Morning in Gorran (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Morning in Gorran (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Here is the view from my bedroom window early morning with the sun playing off the sea. Magic.

To the left and right over the fields and down the cliff you can spot the sea.

Gorran early morning sunrise (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Gorran early morning sunrise (c) Jane Risdon 2016

The silence is endless and the sky is vast in every direction.

I recall seeing the Solar Eclipse from the same balcony in 1999 when we were staying there.

Our artist was performing at the Eclipse festival in aid of the charity, Surfers Against Sewerage.

Next we visited another famous fishing village, Fowey, famous for some many reasons including being the home of Agatha Christie.

Fowey (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Fowey (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Fowey, Cornwall (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Fowey, Cornwall (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Not far away is what was the home of Daphne Du Maurier, but this trip I didn’t get to visit Par where Menabilly (her huge home) used to be.

I was a little disappointed at both Fowey and Megavissy this visit.

Fowey (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Fowey (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Everything seemed so much more commercial and tourist-driven, which of course it has to be in this day and age. But the very quaintness, the real fishing village quality, seems to have been lost in endless tea shops, restaurants and novelty shops.

I know the fishing industry is almost non-existent and people have to make a living, don’t get me wrong. But the thing we all went there to experience, has been lost.

Because there were so many people (and dogs, dozens of dogs) everywhere it was almost impossible to take a photo without strangers in them and the number of cars up and down the ‘car-free’ streets was just too off-putting.  

Boat trips around the coast Foewy (c) Jane Risdon 2016

Boat trips around the coast Foewy (c) Jane Risdon 2016

My friend told me that huge cruise ships come into the area just outside the harbour and boats of tourists now disembark and throng the streets most of the year.

So, not as peaceful and attractive as I remembered from my many visits and stays there in the past.

Also the popularity of the POLDARK TV series has caused an influx of fans looking for the locations of various episodes in the villages of Cornwall.

I recall the original series on BBC in the 1970s, with Robin Ellis in the role of Ross Poldark – who never had to strip to gain viewers – and it strikes me Cornwall was a bit slow back then to capitalise upon the popularity of an excellent series. I have read all of Winston Graham’s Poldark stories and I have to say I prefer the 1970s adaptation…personal taste of course.

Since the Cornish Pasty has been given a special status by the EU (European Community) bakeries have taken the utmost advantage and I nearly dropped on the spot when I checked out and compared Pasty prices from bakery to bakery.

I couldn’t find one under £6.50 – you have got to be joking! Not that I actually like them, but even so….

Cornwall is still beautiful, if somewhat crowded, even off-season. 

My school friend lives on a wonderful spot high about the sea and with green fields, trees and hedgerows around her and not a sound to be heard other than the birds and the cows nearby. It reminded me of how things were down there less than 10 years ago.

My next ‘jolly’ took place a few days after my return and I shall post the photos and information soon.

I hope you enjoy the photos, not as many as usual but at least a taster.

Meantime keep an eye out for the anthologies I have mentioned. Links and details follow soon. Madame Movara’s Tales of Terror can be pre-ordered at Lulu.com

http://www.lulu.com/shop/various-authors/madame-movaras-tales-of-terror/hardcover/product-22894139.html for the hardback edition

 and

http://www.lulu.com/shop/various-authors/madame-movaras-tales-of-terror/paperback/product-22894121.html

for the Scream paperback edition 

and

http://www.lulu.com/shop/various-authors/madame-movaras-tales-of-terror/paperback/product-22894145.html

Spider’s Web edition

all available

for a limited period only.

Thanks for dropping in.

Jane x

As usual all Cornwall photos are (c) Jane Risdon 2016 All Rights Reserved.

From → Blog

15 Comments
  1. Congrats on being included in the anthologies!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Christy thanks so much. I like to do some now and again and especially at least one for charity each year. Thanks for dropping in. Fab seeing you here. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jfredlee permalink

    Thanks, Jane. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. An adventure that begins at Big Bear Lake? LOL, love it! I have a couple of good friends who live there, and they’ll no doubt want to read it. Enjoy your break. Lord knows,you.ve earned it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Big Bear is one of my MOST favourite places, Jeff. Spent many happy days and hours there. Even did a bit of pine needle clearance for an elderly friend who had a Fire Marshall visit due….Monty Python and the Lumberjack song comes to mind at the memory of it….high heels, business suit and shifting pounds and pounds of needles and I have not even mentioned the logs!! A vision! lol

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How exciting that your work is appearing in so many different anthologies and places, Jane! And I do look forward to reading about Mrs. Birdsong. I’ll bet it’l be fantastic. Thanks for sharing these gorgeous ‘photos – it looks like a great little place, and a nice way to spend a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks Margot, yes I have been busy and Ms B is getting there….I know, painfully slow. I wish I could share all the photos but so many ‘strangers’ appeared in them it would have been like ‘spot the person.’ Lovely way to spend a day or a week. I needed to blow the cobwebs away, then I came back to a nasty virus and am still ‘unclean.’ Any news re your new book – dates etc. Will be looking to helping spread the word. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A beautiful part of the country Jane.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Many thanks for your support Jane. I should have the e-book link later today. A week’s tour coming up from Monday 10th.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Reminds me of my May holiday there Jane. I so love Cornwall and in many ways Fowey reminds me of its Devon neighbour Dartmouth which I also have an on-going love affair with. Thank you for that and also news of your writing xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a fab county but very changed. We used to spend a great deal of time there as we had a studio not far. I know times move on but the place was changed, the people changed. Not been to Dartmouth. Thanks so much. :)Hope Watercolours does really well on 7th Oct.

      Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Another Jolly: the lull before the storm – Mevagissy and Fowey Cornwall |

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

