Skip to content

Revenge: Flash Fiction from 2013/2014 – a blast from the past.

August 26, 2015

A blast from the past – well, 2013/2014 actually.

Revenge (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Revenge (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Another of my Flash Fiction stories written to a maximum word count; this time 100 words.

This has been posted before, in 2013/2014, via Morgen Bailey’s Writing Blog,

but, as I am often asked to post some of my older pieces for those just discovering my blog,

I thought I’d post a few every now and again. 

Morgen’s introduction:

Welcome to Flash Fiction Friday and the one hundred and sixteenth piece in this series. This week’s is a 100-worder by Jane Risdon. This story will be podcasted in episode 36 (with three other stories / with two other stories and some 6-worders) on Sunday 26th January 2014.

So here goes.

I hope you enjoy:

Revenge

(c) Jane Risdon 2013

My only regret is that when the realisation hits him, when all the evidence points to him and his life is in ruins, I shan’t be there to see the look on his face when it dawns on him.

Revenge is a dish best served cold apparently.  

Well, I shall be cold in my grave, unable to enjoy the moment my murder is pinned on him. 

I’ve left clues, irrefutable evidence.

Revenge Clues (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Revenge Clues (c) Jane Risdon 2013

No one will ever suspect that I murdered myself, but no matter. 

I go to my grave content that, for once, I have the upper hand.

*

Morgen asked me what prompted this piece:

I love writing about crime and wondered how someone would exact revenge upon another in the worst possible manner.  It occurred to me that to be the victim of a crime that was pinned on the person for whom they sought to punish, whom they hated enough to ‘murder’ themselves for, would be a great twist in the tale.

There is the body, indisputably dead, with all clues pointing to the murderer and the victim’s own words convicting him.  I love writing twists in my stories and for me this was delicious; the ultimate dish served cold.  I hope you agree.

Morgen said:

I do, absolutely. Thank you, Jane.

Morgen’s wonderful blog can be found here:

http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/

I hope you enjoyed this little piece. Let me know what you think.  I love feedback. It helps me with future writing.

Have a fab week everyone.

Jane xx

http://www.facebook.com/JaneRisdon2

http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00I3GJ2Y8 (my Amazon author page)

http://t.co/cptlfh9hFW (my regular music blog)

From → Blog

12 Comments
  1. Those 100 words packed a punch! It’s amazing how few words that really is and how difficult it is to say something in such a compact space. And yet you managed to tell a little story and even added a twist! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, this is a great one, Jane! I’m glad you reminded us of it.

    Like

    • Glad you recall it Margot. I have some friends who want to catch up with my bits and bobs so when I find them I will post them…must write some new ones too. How are things with you? Any Joel on the horizon? I guess Uni is back in full swing by now. I know my grandkids went back to school in LA over a week or so ago. I’ve been watching the fires up at Big Bear – I adore that place. Worry for people there, and friends and of course the animals too. Is it still dry here you are? Having monsoon here today, really like rivers running down the streets and thunder and windy. Summer forgot us this year. Enjoy your day and thanks for popping in; always very welcome 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for asking, Jane. There’s a new Joel Williams story at a publisher’s and I’m waiting to hear if it will be a go. Meanwhile, I have other writing projects I’m doing. We’re still dry here, ‘though we did have a few days of rain not long ago (not enough…). I worry too for those dealing with the fires up north. It’s really a dangerous situation.

        Like

        • I am dead happy you have Joel waiting in the wings again. Fingers and everything else crossed. It will happen…sending positive vibes so it must! The other projects sound interesting or are they to do with academia? Good luck with them all. Yes, the firemen and support staff are very brave and when you know that in China in that terrible explosion, most of those killed were the first responders and fire-crews, it makes you appreciate the risks they take to keep us all safe. Keep me updated about Joel and your other projects. I am looking forward to more of your books. 🙂 xx

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this Jane – please note I’ll not be getting on the wrong side of you LOL

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Revenge: Flash Fiction from 2013/2014 – a blast from the past. |

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

