Skip to content

The Icing on the Cake…The Thrill of it All.

January 10, 2015

It is such a thrill to receive feed-back from readers.

Writing is such a lonely occupation and so to know someone has actually read what you’ve written and liked it enough to comment on Social Media, and to then pop across to Amazon to leave a review with some lovely sparkly stars, and a #1 Best Seller  spot to boot: well, that is the icing on the cake.

In September I signed with Accent Press Ltd and in October they published their Halloween Anthology, Shiver, in which I contributed my short story, The Haunting of Anne Chambers – a Ghost story set in Cornwall where I have spent many years working with recording artists we managed there.

Shiver from Accent Press Oct 2014

http://t.co/qw98OdKs9C

We used to stay with friends in the village of Paul, not far from Mousehole, and there is a wonderful old church there – Paul Church, also known as St. Pol de Leon  – which has some interesting history attached to it.  The Spanish came ashore during the Spanish Armada, did a little raping and pillaging – which accounts for so many dark-haired locals with Spanish-sounding names I guess – but perhaps we won’t go there!

Anyway

Inside the Church Chancel there is a plaque which inspired my story The Haunting of Anne Chambers – it reads exactly as follows:

Interr’d near this place lies ye body

of Captain Andrew Elton

Commander of the Godfrey Gally.

He was killd in an engagement

with a French Privateer

Off the Lands End of England,

Sept. the 4th 1710 Aged 53.

His merit being sufficiently known

He needs no further inscription.

The Haunting of Anne Chambers is a Ghost story about Pirates:

Anne and Andrew are lovers. 

They’re also Privateers – Pirates – and they’re planning to run away together to a new life, after one last raid.

But, when Anne is knocked out cold, she comes round to find that the world around her has changed disturbingly.

That people have purchased, read, and really enjoyed this anthology which features some wonderful stories by several successful writers, is fabulous.

I’ve received some positive reviews of my stories on Amazon which chuffed me to bits at the time, and still does.

The thrill of it all – for me – is that they enjoyed my story enough to leave such positive comments awarding it 5* – that really is the icing on the cake.

But it hasn’t ended there.

In December Accent Press published Wishing on a Star which included my short story, Merry Christmas Everybody, which is also based on a true story.

Wishing on a Star

http://t.co/qw98OdKs9C 

Music lovers will recall the untimely death of Phil Lynott, Thin Lizzy, in 1986; this served as the inspiration for my story.

A couple of years after his death I found myself in a recording studio working with a rock band we managed at the time, over the Christmas period.

  The studio was owned by a friend of Phil’s and, not too long before he died, the singer spent some time at the studio and house of the owner – a very famous rock guitarist.

Besides the band being with us we also had a good friend, a clairvoyant, who was interested in the recording process.  She loved it and had the time of her life watching how the tracks were put together.

And then we had a very strange experience in the studio – an unworldly experience some might call it.

When asked to write for Wishing on a Star the experiences we had in studio came back to me and I was inspired to write Merry Christmas Everybody.

There are tensions in the studio when Twister records their new album.

The band members are at one another’s throats and someone is messing with their recordings.

The band blames their producer, but it soon becomes clear that someone unexpected is trying to get a message of festive goodwill through to them.

This has been well received and I am really excited that readers have seen fit to give it so many 5* reviews on Amazon.  

The Thrill of it all:

 The book was #1 on Amazon soon after it was published.

More icing on the cake.

Over the past few of years I’ve been fortunate enough to find my stories included in various Anthologies, several in aid of worthy charities such as :

The Princess Alice Hospice (In A Word: Murder Anthology) Print and e-Book

Out in Paperback 14th February 2014 on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Out in Paperback 14th February 2014 on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1495931684/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_vx6.sb15V2W6V7KJ

http://www.pah.org.uk/ The Princess Alice Hospice

And

 Women’s Aid, Women for Women, Breakthrough (I Am Woman Vol. 1 Anthology) e-Book

I Am Woman Volume 1 Anthology

I Am Woman Volume 1 Anthology featuring my short story The Look

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Woman-Anthology-Anthologies-ebook/dp/B00817P8DI

Also

The Norfolk Hospice, (Telling Tales Anthology) No longer in print.

Telling Tales Anthology featuring two of my stories: The Debt Collector and The Ghost in the Privy

Telling Tales Anthology which features two of my stories: The Debt Collector and The Ghost in the Privy.

  I’ve been more than happy to write specifically for these causes, especially the Hospices, because my own father was being cared for in one when he died. 

They don’t receive Government funding – they rely upon donations.  The care they provide is second to none.  And I am happy to provide stories for any other similar causes should I be asked.

 

I am busy working on Ms Birdsong Investigates which should be published later this year.

Ms Birdsong is a former MI5 Officer who is ‘voluntarily’ retired following a messed-up operation in conjunction with her MI6 partner, who somehow managed to remain in the service, finding himself posted to Moscow.

   Taking refuge in a small village in rural Oxfordshire where she is hiding from her enemies, and trying to build a new life for herself, Ms Birdsong soon finds all her training comes in useful when she involves herself in investigating murder and dirty deeds in Ampney Parva.

MI5 where Lavinia Birdsong was an Officer until her forced retirement to Ampney Parva

MI5 where Lavinia Birdsong worked until her forced retirement to Ampney Parva

Thanks to everyone who has purchased these books and enjoyed them enough to let me and the other authors know.

It makes it all worthwhile.

 

 

 

From → Blog

26 Comments
  1. Congratulations on all your accomplishments, JR. =) And happy blogoversary. I’m hitting my 2nd yr in a few days.

    Xxx
    Diana

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hopefully more of your hard work will be published this year too, Jane. It’s like see a light at the end of a long tunnel. Have a great new year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Have a fab 2015 Paula. I hope it brings all you wish for yourself and your family. How are things going with your writing? Good I hope.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for asking Jane. I’m half way through writing my third novel. This is the one I know I will get published. Well, what I mean is I shall get it published. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • I wish you all the best with it Paula, writing is hard enough but getting it published is a whole different use of energy and imagination. Are you trying traditional publishers or thinking of doing it yourself? Whichever, I send you positive vibes for success 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • I’m after an agent who can see my novel as a potential bestseller. A editor of a publishing company that published one of my short stories read my submission. They said they enjoyed and advise me to find an agent and hopefully they worked for a company who will love it as much as they did. Unfortunately, the editor’s company doesn’t publish my sort of crime novel.

            Liked by 1 person

            • Getting an agent is hard enough, it is all so time consuming and takes writing time away…but it is the way it is. Same thing when I was working in music. I hope you find a suitable agent and company soon and that they’ll take the crime novel. Have you thought of self-publishing in any form?

              Like

              • No, it isn’t a route I want to take at the moment if ever. I’m happy to take my time perfecting my art and entering competitions to build up my CV. So far I’ve had nine shorts published and won two competitions.

                Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jane I have nominated you for the Premio Dardas Award or Flowers if you are not accepting awards at this time. Have a lovely weekend and best wishes Sally… https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2015/01/23/another-award-season-special-the-premio-dardos-award-or-flowers/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, thanks so much for this. Do be patient as I am working to deadlines and may not be able to do this asap. Is this OK? Thank s much, thrilled and honoured. 🙂 Jane

      Like

  4. Thanks for becoming a subscriber. Happy blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gloria permalink

    Thank you Jane and all your fellow authors for all the great stories you keep writing. I am really looking forward to reading the ‘Mrs Birdsong’ adventures so keep me posted x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Gloria, thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment and review both Shiver and Wishing on a Star – with my stories and those of other Accent Press authors – really thrilled you enjoyed them and I hope t have Ms Birdsong Investigates available soon. Busy doing to some re-writes which came about because I wrote a prequel to it as a short story and this turned into a longer story and so I had to add and omit parts of the original Ms B to account for the characters and events in the prequel. I think I mentioned I’d been to a family wedding at what was a Safe House and this sparked off all sorts of ideas, then I had a birthday trip to the Observatory at Herstmonceaux which again set off the little grey cells and so Ms B is investigating there as well – so again more changes to the first story. Life is interesting for Ms B. So when I am ready there will; be at least three books to read. Thanks so much, you are a star. So appreciate your input and support. ❤

      Like

  6. Reader feedback is an amazing feeling as I’m just learning. You have such a wide range here as well Jane, so much to be proud of! Wishing you continued success in 2015 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rebecca, thanks so much. I feel really privileged to have so many new and wonderful friends here and on Facebook. We’d never have met had it not been for all this Social Media access! I am amazed where people come from as well. The countries showing up on my stats fascinates me – how do those living in restricted regimes manage to find someone like me and read and comment? It is quite humbling. I wish you all you wish yourself for 2015, and more. Thanks for being here. 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I know exactly what you mean about reader feedback, Jane. It’s the best! And I am delighted for your success. Your contributions to In a Word: Murder enhanced the anthology, and I wish you continued success this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Margot. I wish you lots of success too. I hope the book is still selling and benefitting the Hospice. The one my dad was in is struggling and even though my family tries to help whenever they have an opportunity. I am thrilled people want to red anything I have written and to be bothered to review and comment is just fab. I am made up as the Aussies would say! 🙂

      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

