Skip to content

I’m getting Shivers sharing my good news

September 25, 2014

Shiver from Accent Press Oct 2014

Those of you kind enough to pop in here from time to time will know I’ve been submitting to Publishers during the summer, more in hope than expectation.

Well, I am very happy to share my good news with you.

I’ve been included in SHIVER,

a collection of horror stories

with contributions by so many authors I admire such as:

Andrea Frazer, Bill Kitson, Caroline Dunford, Christina Jones, Helena Fairfax, Tricia Maw, Marie Laval, Cara Cooper and David Roger.

SHIVER is published in early October 2014 by ACCENT PRESS LTD.

 I’ve signed a Publishing Agreement for this collection and I am hoping it will lead to more stories being published by them. 

They have a Christmas story I’ve written under consideration, so fingers crossed.

This story is a  departure from my usual Crime/Mystery writing – I’ve never attempted a Ghost story before and it was fun to write.

My story is called ‘The Haunting of Anne Chambers’

  I am thrilled to bits and really excited.

More information to follow soon.

I do hope you like the cover – Halloween is soon upon us.

Catch up soon.  Have a FAB weekend one and all.

From → Blog

77 Comments
  1. Hi, Jane! I’ve just tweeted this and your Christmas post! best wishes, Margaret 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Margaret thanks so much for this, much appreciated. I am overcome with delight….deep breathing and cuppa I think. Seriously, very grateful and appreciate it no end. Have a fab Christmas and thanks again 🙂

      Like

  2. Yay for you! Many congrats on getting published!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jennifer, many thanks. Been a few books for charity to date and now a proper publisher and another book in the works…exciting times 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for choosing to follow my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog and liking one of my posts. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. First of all, thank you for following my blog. And congrats. by the way. Not sure I like my work cut about too much, but I guess it has to be.
    Evelyn

    Liked by 1 person

    • Evelyn, it is hard isn’t it…take a deep breath and smile. Thanks for joining me here too…fab meeting you and I shall pop in now and again to see what you are up to. Have a fab week, thanks so much Jane. 🙂

      Like

  6. Congratulations Jane, quite an accomplishment. Lately i know a lot of people that self publish, but extremely hard to publish by the more traditional form. So congrat´s!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks – I am in shock still. I hope people will enjoy it and let me know what they think. Feedback is so important, otherwise we write in a vacuum. Have a fab week and thanks so much – appreciated. 🙂

      Like

  7. Excellent news Jane. Congratulation — and hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good morning Jane. That is wonderful news – congratulations!

    I also have some; next month, issue 157, sees my 1st prize-winning story published. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congratulations, Jane! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. CONGRATULATIONS Jane 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Reblogged this on KATE JACK'S BLOG and commented:
    Looking for a halloween read – look no further.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kate thanks so much, really appreciated. I hope people will enjoy it – if they buy it – and tell me what they think. Need to have feedback otherwise I’ll never know if it is any good or not. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m sure it’ll do well 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fingers crossed 🙂 Thanks.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Just downloaded it from amazon. Looking forward to reading it. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            • Kate, thanks so much. I appreciate it and I really hope you enjoy all the stories. I am reading them now and am finding the different styles of the various authors so interesting. This is my first time having a ‘proper’ editor working with me and it was quite an experience I can tell you…not so much chopped out but tightened up. The little that did go was hard to part with but the decisions were correct I think. Do let me know what you think of all the stories and of course mine. Feedback is always appreciated – working in a vacuum and all that! Have a fab weekend. I am off to the physiotherapist now – torture is what it should be called – so hope I can still type later today. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  12. Congrats Jane! BTW..I would like to feature you in the Second Acts series on my blog. Email me at guidoccioj@bell.net if interested. Joanne 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Many thanks. So kind of you. Yes I shall email you today. Would be fun. Have a great week. Thanks once more 🙂

      Like

    • I saw this and replied via email but perhaps you’ve not seen it. Do please look out for it and let me know if you are still interested. Joanne, many thanks for your kind words and do email me or message me again if there are any communications problems. Would love to do it. 🙂 Jane.

      Like

  13. How wonderful Jane, that’s great news. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Congratulations!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Jenny permalink

    Congratulations Jane xxx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah thanks so much, really appreciate it. Hoping you are well and life treating you good. Have a fab weekend 🙂

      Like

  16. woooohOOOOOOOOOOOO that’s awesomew news, Jane, huge congratulations! Hope you’re opening the bubbly and indulging properly. Rock On!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL I am on strong pain killers and so forth so no booze for me – yet – Nicky. Perhaps when I feel more human and able to take it in. Not very rock ‘n roll eh!! Hoping Fallen for Rock is doing all you want it to and the new book too. Good luck 🙂

      Like

  17. Wonderful news Jane! Isn’t it great to be rewarded for all your hard work?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am happy though realistic as this is a small step, but in the right direction. Thanks so much. How are things with you, good I hope? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Coming along just fine thanks. I had a person to person meeting today, which to others may be normal but to me it was an event! It was about books and a salon that is coming up. Unfortunately we have a small English population around here so (sigh), I will have to be even more brave at the salon.

        Liked by 1 person

  18. Congratulations! Hoping it’s the start of something big 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much Jane. I hope so. Small steps. In the past I have given the stories away for anthologies. This time I was invited to submit and then offered the contract. It is up to me now. Hoping you have a fab weekend and lots of writing success too 🙂

      Like

  19. That’s brilliant news, Jane. It’s always great news when one of your own babies find a good home. That’s how I see my own little creations as my babies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is indeed. This is my first contract, in the past I’ve given them away. So I am excited, it is a door opener. I know it is a small step…I wrote this by invitation too. 🙂 Wishing you lots of success Paula. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, Jane. So far this year three of my stories have found homes in three different anthologies which will be published this year. Like you, I’m under contract with one. I’m excited as I managed to get one of my stories into a Gothic anthology being published by Parthian Books. They were looking for 13 stories and I couldn’t believe it when mine was accepted as one of them. I look forward to see your story when its published.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Paula, that is wonderful – you have done really well and I will keep positive thoughts coming your way for more success. Every little step…that’s what I tell myself. Congrats on Parthian books…let me know when it is published. Look forward to reading it and others. Let me know where they are. Have a fun weekend. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  20. HUGE congratulations, Jane! I’m thrilled for you and can’t wait to read your story. Brilliant news! X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much. I am thrilled too. We share a Publisher! I am excited. I’ve had stories in anthologies before but never under a contract and by invitation quite like this. This is the second book Chrissie and I have both had stories included in. I hope Jersey Kiss is doing well. I’ve shared on my FB author page a couple of times, so I wish you all the best with it 🙂

      Like

  21. Many congratulations Jane. I look forward to reading your story when the anthology comes out in October. Kind regards, Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kevin, thanks so much. I am thrilled. Small steps I know but even so…I’ve contributed to many anthologies in the past, but never under contract before. I appreciated your kind words and I hope I won’t disappoint. No dead bodies!! LOL Jane 🙂

      Like

  22. Yeay, Jane! Congratulations! That is absolutely brilliant news!! Cher xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cher, thanks so much. I am so chuffed…just when I needed some good news! I’ve had stories published before but never under contract. So excited. Thanks so much, it means a lot to have your best wishes. Have a fab day and a wonderful weekend and let’s catch up again soon 🙂

      Like

  23. I can’t tell you how absolutely delighted I am for you, Jane! This is fabulous news! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been bursting at the seams Margot…and today I got the OK to promote the book. Possibly out on sale 9th Oct. Ghost stories are new for me but I do hope I’ve done the genre proud. Thanks so much 🙂 Have a fab weekend.

      Like

  24. This is soooo cool! Congratualtions!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thanks so much. I am chuffed to bits. Writing a ghost story is a first for me and to have a contract offered was (is) such a thrill. Fingers crossed those who buy the book will enjoy the story. Have a cool day and a fab weekend. Thanks so much for popping in – so very kind and appreciated. 🙂

      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

