Skip to content

Updating progress so far: ticking boxes

May 24, 2014

 

Raging Torrent perform in The Stalker

Raging Torrent perform in The Stalker

It’s been a busy week or two but I thought I’d stop by with a little update as to how I am getting on with things.  The last time we met I posted a long list of things I am hoping to achieve this summer.

I am so happy to say that I have completed the short story I was invited to write, and which is now under consideration by a Charity hoping to publish an anthology at the end of the year.

It’s called

The Stalker

It is  3,000 words long and is set in Hollywood and features Raging Torrent, a successful Rock band, their lead singer, Birdie, and his girlfriend, Julie, who arrives from Seattle in search of fame and fortune and all the trappings that go with it.

Music, Musicians Fame and Riches (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Music, Musicians Fame and Riches (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Glamour, music, fast cars with a twist in the tale.

Hopefully this will be accepted.  Fingers crossed. I won’t know until September.

If Music be the means to an end.....play on!

If Music be the means to an end…..play on!

Happily I can report that I have completed a ‘stand alone’ Ms Birdsong Investigates short story which I’ve called

The Safe House.

You may recall a wedding I attended last year in a huge country house miles from anywhere with over 6,000 acres of woodlands, fields, and beautifully laid-out grounds, which was not what it seemed.

Seclusion, Surveillance and secrets. (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Seclusion, Surveillance and secrets. (c) Jane Risdon 2014

As I wandered around the house and the grounds and chatted to the ‘staff’ I began to realise just what sort of ‘house’ it really is.  Most of the time it is a conference centre and a place where Governments can meet in seclusion and away from prying eyes.  Now and again it is used as a wedding venue – the reason why I was there. 

The Safe House (c) Jane Risdon 2014

The Safe House (c) Jane Risdon 2014

A story began to take shape as I walked around the house and grounds and suddenly I could see Ms Birdsong there, attending a wedding just like me.  She is there under sufferance and not too happy with the way the event is turning out when she sees someone – someone out-of-place. She’s never quite got used to being ‘retired’ from MI5 and cannot stop herself from making it her business to find out more.

I hope to publish this in the summer.

I’ve sent off Vegas or Moscow to the publishers in the USA. 

File:Downtownlasvegas.JPG

(c) Bporter28 Downtown Las Vegas

Not holding my breath but you’ve got to be in it to win it as I am constantly being told.

Vegas or Moscow: one record company and lots of suitors

Vegas or Moscow: one record company and lots of suitors

This is  another Music business story, this time about Payola and what almost  ‘taking the Fifth,’  eventually costs a Record Company and their owners.

I won’t know until September.  Phew!

Trident Hotel Mumbai (c) Risdon 2008

Trident Hotel Mumbai (c) Risdon 2008

Set in Mumbai in the Bollywood Movie industry which is thriving and makes more movies than Hollywood each year, my story

deals with the after-math of the Mumbai Terrorist attacks on the Luxury Hotels and the Railway Station there, and how it changes the lives of two English men forever

when they meet

The White Haired Man.

View from The Grant Road Mission, Mumbai in The White Haired Man (c) Jane Risdon 2014

View from The Grant Road Mission Mumbai in The White Haired Man (c) Jane Risdon 2014

I have hit the 10,000 word mark and I’m aiming for 15,000-20,000 before it ends.

Watch this space.

The Vale of the White Horse - Lavinia Birdsong's home on the Berkshire/Oxfordshire Downs

The Vale of the White Horse – Lavinia Birdsong’s home on the Berkshire/Oxfordshire Downs

And

Murder at the Observatory

(a Ms Birdsong Investigates story)

is also at around 15,000 words so far and again I am aiming for about 20,000. 

Earth in the distance seen from the Lunar surface (c) NASA 1969

Earth in the distance seen from the Lunar surface (c) NASA 1969

This is another stand-alone story inspired by my birthday ‘Jolly’ to Herstmonceux Observatory in March.  I hope to complete it early June.

Wayland Smithy near White Horse Hill Uffington, Oxfordshire.

Wayland Smithy near White Horse Hill Uffington, Oxfordshire.

The story takes place at the Ridgeway Observatory near Ampney Parva – Ms Birdsong has a cottage in the village – and around The Vale of The White Horse, Dragon Hill and Waylands Smithya Neolithic longbarrow.

In addition to the above I am compiling my first Crime Anthology and preparing various stories to go out to publishers, so the last few weeks have been really busy and I don’t see any let-up throughout June.

Now and again I get to go for a wonderful walk in the countryside which helps refresh the parts in need of perking up.

Just so you know I’ve not been twiddling my thumbs since we last chatted.

Well, that is it for now.

Have a great week everyone.

Let’s meet here again soon.

 

 

 

From → Blog

32 Comments
  1. I don’t know how you do it. Good luck, fingers crossed here for you

    Like

    • Elaine, I try my best and I hope to succeed but who knows. I am catching up on lost years pleasing everyone else. Now I am pleasing me. Good luck with your projects 🙂

      Like

  2. I come to you with love Especially for You much happiness and good health transmits the iubire.Va want a magical evening and a good night sleep and blessed.


    Like

  3. Maggie Thom permalink

    Congrats on all the writing Jane. Whoohoo! 🙂

    Like

    • Ah thanks Maggie, I am working hard and have my fingers and everything else crossed, but I am realistic. Hope all goes well with yours too 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank you so much for following my blog! It is much appreciated, and best of luck on your writing!!!

    Like

  5. *wipes beads of sweat of brow* Phew, I worked up a sweat just reading this Jane. You have been a busy lady, great to see that you aren’t sitting around gathering dust. 🙂
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    Like

    • LOL well I don’t know about dust, need to do some chores here before I disappear into the cobwebs never to be seen again – hope all is well with you and you are keeping in good health 🙂

      Like

      • Not only cobwebs, it’s the spiders and fungus and such. 😉 I’m not too bad, had the emphysema under control until last week. I copped a lungful of jet engine fumes at the local show. Huge burst of flame, dust and noise on a little car with a jet engine attached. So I’ve been coughing and wheezing since. the things we do for art. 🙂
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

        • Oh cripes, not good. Take more care. What was the event? I love F1. Yep I shall be hiding my head in shame if anyone pops in (highly unlikely but I live in hope) to visit and see the mess I am in. I hope your chest is better soon. I’ve been hobbling around as I’ve managed to do my knee in – it has ‘gone’ before but this has been swollen and painful for over 2 weeks. The fall damaged all my left side and so now and again it reminds me I am not 25 any longer. LOL. Keep doing what you are ding and keep well. Bugger the fungus. If I visit please remove the spiders – or I’ll be on your table the whole visit. 🙂

          Like

          • Not good at all. It was a local show (fair) and they had various ring events, one being a jet car. I empathise with you about your injuries. I fell over and knocked my left arm and shoulder around a few weeks ago, Twisted my good knee last week. 😦 No, we aren’t getting any younger, now I know why elderly people look miserable, it hurts being old. Don’t like spiders eh? okay I won’t send you spider pics. 😉

            Like

            • LOL nope no spider pics please. hope your knew and shoulder improve. I am hoping the surgeon will say my shoulder is now stable enough to operate on as I’ve just about had enough….18 months of it now. 🙂

              Like

              • Okay, no spiders. When I finished vomiting from the pain I grabbed hold of a strap on a veranda post, wrapped it around my wrist and pulled backwards. It slipped back into place. The elbow went back in and then my wrist. Crikey it hurt for a minute or two. Then I wore a sling for a fortnight. I still have some muscle tears but they’re healing. I empathise with you having to wait so long and in pain. 😦

                Like

  6. You are a busy busy bee! Wishing you all the best of everything with all your irons in the fire(s) 😉

    Like

  7. My goodness, you’ve been productive, Jane! I am most impressed! I’ll be crossing fingers that you get your work snapped up.

    Like

    • Margot, thanks so much for this. I am hoping so too but who knows what people want. I can only do my best. I’ve submitted to those wanting short stories to begin with and I am aiming for those wanting novels next. A big spurt on as last year was such a wash-out. Appreciated. 🙂

      Like

  8. Prolific I think is the word. You’re making me feel like I should be doing a lot more! Good luck with your submissions 🙂

    Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

