Skip to content

A very big thanks for being here – whilst I’m on my quest this month.

May 15, 2014
Ready to get started (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Ready to get started (c) Jane Risdon 2014

I’ve almost had to give up – for the time being at any rate – trying to thank each and every one of you personally for following me and ‘liking’ my blog recently, and also those who are frequent visitors and commentators here.

You may or may not be aware that I am trying hard to prepare various manuscripts ready for submission to publishers who have stated they are ‘open for submissions’ for a limited time only – this has meant I am spending every minute I possibly can working on my stories, and so I’ve not been able to reach out and thank each and every one of you as I’d like.

Please accept my apologies – I will try to catch up if I can at some point, but in the event I miss you out for some reason, please forgive me and consider this as a communal thank-you and expression of my appreciation.

Your visits and comments are treasured and I am thrilled that you have decided to follow me here. 

I enjoy following you as well. 

 However, if I am to stick to my goal of getting my work out there this year I must work hard at it.  I shall be popping in here as often as I am able and I shall post when I can, but during the month of May/June it will be little less frequently, until I get a grip of my quest.

I know those of you who write will understand.

Please do keep visiting and leaving your comments and links here and I shall do my best, I promise, to acknowledge them.

Autograph Books (c) Jane Risdon 2014

Autograph Books (c) Jane Risdon 2014

I have been working on a post which should be completed soon – about Autographs – so do keep an eye out for it.  Your feed-back should be interesting and if you have any anecdotes you’d like to share with me in the meantime, do contact me.  I may be able to use them.

Those of you who have hung out with me here for a considerable time will know that I am working hard on a few novels.

Ms Birdsong Investigates which will be a series based on the exploits of a former MI5 Officer, Lavinia Birdsong, ‘voluntarily’ retired to rural Oxfordshire where she can’t resist keeping her neighbours under surveillance.

The Vale of the White Horse - Lavinia Birdsong's home on the Berkshire/Oxfordshire Downs

The Vale of the White Horse – Lavinia Birdsong’s home on the Berkshire/Oxfordshire Downs

 At present I’m working on a stand-alone Ms B story, ‘Murder at the Observatory,’ inspired by one of my birthday jollies in March.  There is a post already about my visit to Herstmonceux Observatory earlier on in March.

Solar System (1979) from various NASA spacecraft  (c) NASA 1979

Solar System (1979) from various NASA spacecraft (c) NASA 1979

The White Haired Man – Bollywood movie stars, Underworld crime bosses and the fate of two stranded Englishmen stuck in Mumbai after the 26/11 terrorist attacks.

Trident Hotel Mumbai (c) Risdon 2008

Trident Hotel Mumbai (c) Risdon 2008

God’s Waiting Room – an ‘observational’ and somewhat ‘humorous’ series inspired by conversations over-heard at a village bus-stop, relating some of the adventures and anecdotes discussed  as they wait to catch the bus.

  We have Mrs Hedges – long dead – who still occupies her seat in the local pub smoking her clay pipe and wearing her Trilby hat – for starters.  

The suspected suicide of a sewerage worker who was found face down in the  raw sewage at the local treatment plant wearing nothing but a fur coat,

and what happened  next when two illicit lovers set off for a ride on a tandem.

Bus Stops feature a lot in my God's Waiting Room series. (c) Jane Risdon 2012

Bus Stops feature a lot in my God’s Waiting Room series. (c) Jane Risdon 2012

It’s a long way to Tipperary – researching family history leads to a visit to long-lost relations in Tipperary and soon the differences between the English and the Southern Irish are laid bare with often hilarious outcomes. 

This novel is also part of a series based upon the exploits of a matriarchal figure and her ‘disappointing’ family.

It's a long way to Tipperary (c) Jane Risdon 2008

It’s a long way to Tipperary (c) Jane Risdon 2008

Based on some of my experiences in Hollywood and the Music business I have been writing a series which for the time being is called ‘La La Land.’ 

The first part follows the adventures of two English musicians in Los Angeles to audition for a Super group at the end of the 1980’s.

Black eyes, broken noses, and a telephone bill from hell, not to mention affairs of the heart and a long line of Groupies….I’m sure you get the picture.

Hollywood - Magnet for the young and ambitious. (c) Jane Risdon 1989

Hollywood – Magnet for the young and ambitious. (c) Jane Risdon 1989

Some of you will recall that I am co-writing a novel with a friend who is a successful award-winning author of over 30 books and for the time being this is called ‘OOW.’  Based on the 1960’s when love was in the air and music and musicians became very important to two young women in this story which is told from both their points of view.

1960's - two girls, one musician and a hot band: OOW coming soon.

1960’s – two girls, one musician and a hot band: OOW coming soon.

I am always writing short stories as you know and I’ve recently submitted ‘Vegas or Moscow’ to publishers seeking a piece under 3,000 words – this went off to them two weeks ago.  I am not expecting a reply until September – please  do wish me luck!  This is another story based on my experiences in the LA Music business and some of the ‘colourful and interesting’ characters who sail a bit close to the wind in a life and death bid for a successful record company.

Vegas or Moscow: one record company and lots of suitors

Vegas or Moscow: one record company and lots of suitors

As you can see it is all go here and I am trying to be very disciplined.  I am working on an anthology of my Crime short stories which I hope to put out myself sometime this summer.  This should be followed by an anthology of some of my other short stories in various genres soon after – well, that is the plan!

So, if I am not here as often as I’d like to be it is because I am getting down to business.   I will pop into as many blogs as I can in the meantime, so do be patient if I haven’t been over to you for a while.

I’ll be back soon providing I’ve not taken to drink.

Until then be good, be careful, and have fun. 

Don’t go away – I haven’t.

Out in Paperback 14th February 2014 on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

Out in Paperback 14th February 2014 on amazon.co.uk and amazon.com

 Meantime don’t forget you can read some wonderful stories in this Crime anthology.

Follow the links to buy your copy of In a Word: Murder and give the gift which keeps on giving.

The USA Paperback version is available via

http://www.amazon.com/dp/1495931684/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_vx6.sb15V2W6V7KJ

The USA Kindle version is available via

 http://www.amazon.com/In-Word-Murder-An-Anthology-ebook/dp/B00GFXNZYE/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1383674275&sr=8-8&keywords=in+a+word%3A+murder

 The UK Paperback version is available via

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1495931684/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_FC6.sb0RABYAV

The UK Kindle is available via

http://www.amazon.co.uk/In-Word-Murder-An-Anthology-ebook/dp/B00GFXNZYE/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1383674321&sr=8-12&keywords=In+word+Murder

 

From → Blog

28 Comments
  1. jane happy to see you happy, the spirit continues to friends thank you for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks a lot dude. I am glad your books are doing so good

    Liked by 1 person

  3. spirit continues jane, your blog is great

    Liked by 1 person

  4. are you sure you I will pop in and of course you wiil be reading your blog and joining in

    Like

  5. Maggie Thom permalink

    Very excited for you. And yes when you set a goal other things have to be put aside to achieve it. Go girl. 🙂

    Like

  6. Good luck Jane, we’ll be here when you return. I hope everything goes well in your writing ventures.
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    Like

  7. Big virtual hug followed by much waving of pom poms and cheers from the sidelines. Go Jane Go! You can do it! Whoot Whoot!!!

    Like

    • LOL thanks so much for your belief and cheers – much needed and so appreciated. Hope all goes well with you too. 🙂

      Like

  8. Totally understandable, you have to concentrate on you and work first, and that’s exactly how it should be! Good luck with it all 🙂

    Like

  9. You do what you need to Jane, we all understand. I’m sure they will jump at your submission, and you deserve it 🙂

    Like

    • Oh thanks Linda, I hope so but there will be so many others I am sure. I am glad your books are doing so well. any more on the horizon? 🙂

      Like

      • You’ll do great Jane 🙂 The third in the series is due out soon, doing second edits at the moment. I don’t know about them doing great, but I’m happy with seeing them completed, and on my shelf 🙂

        Like

        • Sense of achievement is wonderful I am sure. Keep going as I know I improve the more times I write so I am sure it is the same for everyone else. Good luck with edits. Ugh! 🙂

          Like

  10. I understand fully, be busy myself with my novel. Good luck with all your writing projects

    Like

  11. Jane – So glad to hear you are making time for your writing. And thanks for sharing all of this lovely information, too, as well as updates about your progress. We’ll be here when you get back… 🙂

    Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

