Skip to content

This is a Dangerous Liaison*

April 6, 2014

I have just seen this and it made me tearful. Margot, so wonderful of you to mention The Honey Trap in your piece. I am so honoured and touched that you should think it worthy of inclusion in your post and when I read what you and the Col had written, I choked up. On a day when I needed encouragement I was led back here by Morgen Bailey – for some reason I’d missed this – and now I am fired up and ready to go on. I cannot express my gratitude enough or my pride that you should include me. Thanks so much. I hope I can come up with more stories that you enjoy. thanks again, both of you. Jane

Confessions of a Mystery Novelist...

Dangerous LiaisonsIf you read enough crime fiction, you get to the point where you can almost give advice to the characters. Just as an example, there are plenty of novels where there’s a ‘boy meets girl’ situation that you absolutely know is not going to go well. If it’s handled deftly, that kind of scene or plot thread can add real tension and suspense to a novel. If it’s done poorly it gets predictable and therefore, just pulls the reader out of the story. Let me offer a few examples from crime fiction to show you what I mean.

In Raymond Chandler’s The Big Sleep, General Guy Sternwood hires private investigator Philip Marlowe to help him solve a delicate family problem. Book dealer Arthur Geiger has sent Sternwood an extortion letter that makes reference to Sternwood’s daughter Carmen. Marlowe’s job will be to make Geiger leave the Sternwood family alone…

View original post 1,013 more words

From → Blog

4 Comments
  1. Ugh – sorry I forgot to close my italics..*blush*

    Like

  2. Jane – Believe me, it was my pleasure to discuss The Honey Trap. It’s a great story and a fine example of what I had in mind. And thanks to you for the kind re-blog. 🙂

    Like

    • Margot, I am so chuffed I had to re-blog it. Just so my family can read it and see I am not banging away for hours for nothing! I respect your opinion and that is why I am blown away. Totally awed. 🙂

      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

