Skip to content

I may be some time……

January 5, 2014
Serenity (c) Jane Risdon 20113

Serenity (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Those of you who kindly visit with me here on a regular basis will know the saga of the fall down my sister’s stairs Boxing Day 2012 and the damage done to my shoulder and collar-bone as a result.

You will have heard how I have been waiting all year for a series of operations to mend the broken shoulder (rotary cuff) and my collar-bone and how difficult it has been to write and type and generally do all those things we all take for granted every day.

Well, the exciting news is that I am due for an operation on one of the breaks this coming Wednesday.  I shall be out of action on here for a while – not sure how long however.  I am told I shall have my arm in a sling for 6-8 weeks and depending on whether I have recovered well enough I shall then undergo another operation after that –  again it means another 6-8 weeks in a sling.  Deep joy – but at least I am not someone suffering such inconveniences permanently.

So it looks as if the first few months of 2014 will see me either out of action on here or just doing what I can once I get the hang of typing one-handed.  I have been doing that all year more or less, but this time I will not have any freedom in my left arm so I may well not be able to reach the keys.

Thank God I heard you say?

However, I am looking into the voice-activated part of Windows 8 (it has to be good for something!) and if I master this, who knows, I may well be writing for England!

Egyptian Geese on a lake nearby (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Egyptian Geese on a lake nearby (c) Jane Risdon 2013

I most likely won’t be out and about taking photos much either.  Mind you, with the weather we are having at the present time, that is not such a bad thing.  I am not too keen on getting drenched every time I set foot outside the door!

I do hope you will not run off with someone else once you know I am not around so often – I will be popping in an out of various other blogs and author pages and on Facebook visiting you all I am sure, so don’t disappear never to be seen again.  I shall miss you all as it is.

On January 26th 2014 Morgen Bailey is Pod-casting my 100 words story, REVENGE,  and I will post links here nearer the time for those of you who might like to hear her read it.  As you know she publishes quite a few of my Short Stories and Flash Fiction pieces and these are always Pod-cast not long afterwards.  So I do hope you will go over and have a look at what she has done for me and many other writers on her blog.

For Morgen’s work, that of other authors and some of my own contributions follow:

http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/

The links to the Pod-cast of REVENGE will be here nearer the 26th January, although the actual story is already posted on her Flash Fiction Friday feature.

You can find it:

http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/2013/12/13/flash-fiction-friday-116-revenge-by-jane-risdon

Meantime I thought I’d post some of the photos I have taken whilst out walking.  I do hope you will like them.

 

Reflection (c) Jane Risdon 2011

Reflection (c) Jane Risdon 2013

I have several favourite places where I enjoy walking.   Walking helps me think and ideas for stories pop into my head, often as a result of watching the birds and wild life or just enjoying the scenery around me.  I take lots of photos and these help as a sort of visual diary/notebook for me.  As soon as I get home I put them onto the computer and then start working on the story ideas they conjure up. 

I am sure many of you who write,  do the same.

I am very lucky in that there are lots of gorgeous places to walk and enjoy the countryside nearby.  I love the nature reserve not far from me with the lake and river nearby and the local parks and woods.  We have lots of woodland and heathland here so there is always somewhere to go and lots to see; birds, ducks, swans, deer, pheasant, squirrels and sheep!  I am sure there are lots more creatures lurking nearby such as mice – but let’s not go there!

At the end of the lane (c) Jane Risdon 2013

At the end of the lane (c) Jane Risdon 2013

                  These were taken at various locations and at different times of the year.

Little Chap I photographed on a local lake (c) Jane Risdon 2011

Little Chap I photographed on a local lake (c) Jane Risdon 2011

I tend to aim and shoot, rather than set up a shot so I cannot claim any skill when taking photos, but sometimes they turn out really well.  The Mallard is one I am very happy with.

The Family Estate Serena Beaufort hoped to save with her marriage (c) Jane Risdon 2010

The Family Estate Serena Beaufort hoped to save with her marriage (c) Jane Risdon 2010

I just loved the colours of the trees in this one.

Outside the Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Outside the Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Churches and old buildings fascinate me and so do old villages so I tend to take lots of photos when I am out and about, just as a record of where I have been or of somewhere I particularly liked visiting.

After the service on the Sunday of our visit (c) Jane Risdon 2013

After the service on the Sunday of our visit (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Ely Cathedral is a beautiful place and if you ever get the chance to visit it please do…it is well worth the effort to climb up on the roof to view the cathedral from the Octagon and Lantern.

Painted panels where the American Bomber Crews put their names on the rear. (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Painted panels where the American Bomber Crews put their names on the rear. (c) Jane Risdon 2013

If you don’t have a head for heights or cannot walk up narrow stone stairs in the tiny stairwells, or if you are unable to almost crawl through the tiny doors on to the roof, perhaps looking up might be preferable to looking down!

IMG_5089

Outside the Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Outside the Cathedral (c) Jane Risdon 2013

house just outside the Cathedral grounds (c) Jane Risdon 2013

house just outside the Cathedral grounds (c) Jane Risdon 2013

A fascinating house with a fascinating history.

Rear of the 'Safe House' (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Rear of the ‘Safe House’ (c) Jane Risdon 2013

A family wedding in July saw me visiting a wonderful old house (above) on a huge estate which held some fantastic secrets which have sparked off lots of ideas for my Ms Birdsong Investigates novel and has led to lots of additions to the story which is almost complete.  I am planning on finishing it before the summer if my shoulder operations go well and I am able to type again.

                                               I now think I have a series for Ms Birdsong.  Not only is there scope for stories in the present but I think having seen this house and had the ‘light bulb’ go off as a result, that I can also write a prequel – Ms Birdsong’s career in MI5 before she had her adventures in Ampney Parva.  The little grey cells are spinning like crazy.

'Safe House' (c) Jane Risdon 2013

‘Safe House’ (c) Jane Risdon 2013

 Still, this is all a way off at the moment.  I will know how things are after Wednesday.  So, until I return I wish you all a wonderful start to 2014.  Do come back and visit whilst I am away, there are lots of Short Stories and pieces of Flash Fiction to read as well as my previous blog posts which I hope you will enjoy and comment upon.

I will pop in and out and who knows, I might be able to write something, even a little something and if all goes well I may even be able to get all my bits working properly sooner rather than later. 

 Don’t forget to check in here for links to REVENGE and the Pod-cast on 26th January.

Thanks for visiting me and for being such fun to connect with.   I hope you enjoy the photos I’ve added here today.

 See you all soon.  Jane xx

All photos (c) Jane Risdon 2013 – All Rights Reserved.

From → Blog

58 Comments
  1. I hope that both you and your sister are fully recovered now

    Like

  2. supernova1c permalink

    Good luck Jane, see you back here as soon as!
    Best wishes to you and my kind regards, James 🙂

    Like

    • I am back, operation postponed for a while to allow my injuries to stabilise – so now 13 months since I fell and it looks like a few more moths to go. Thanks for your kind words, appreciated.

      Like

  3. Good luck with the surgery, Jane ~ and hopefully you’ll come away painfree and happy! Take all the time you need and don’t worry about blogging, we’ll still be here when you get back. Make sure you look after YOU! Here’s wishing you all the best and a good 2014, despite the operational start. Rock on, you, and I’m sending you lots of positive vibes. XXXX

    Like

    • Nicky, thanks for this and I shall be back asap. I hope you had a great Xmas with the family and that 2014 is all you wish for. Love the new page too. Rock on and see you here soon. Love Jane xxxx

      Like

  4. Hi, I’ve nominated you for the blog of 2013 Award! I hope you’ll accept! http://ambitiouspoet.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/blog-of-the-year-2013/

    Like

    • Thanks so much for this…I am naughty as I have some other awards which I still need to acknowledge. Please be patient as I am away (hospital) for a while and my left arm will be out of action so cannot accept until better…hope this is OK. Happy 2014 and thanks so much. Wonderful Jane.

      Like

      • You’re welcome! Don’t worry about the award and I’m sorry to hear about your arm! I hope you feel better soon! :/ You don’t even have to accept if you didn’t want to but you certainly deserve the blog of 2013 Award! I just wanted to let you know that! 🙂 Get well soon, Ambitious Poet

        Like

        • That is so kind, I will accept asap I can get my head into gear and the digits working on one hand. Kind of you to nominate me, I really do appreciate it. I shall be able to do something soon I am sure. Happy writing and keep safe and well too 🙂

          Like

          • Thank you and I wish you the best on your road to speedy recovery 🙂

            Like

            • Thanks for your kind words but unfortunately the operation was cancelled as I was being prepped. So got to wait for a few more months. Deep joy! 🙂

              Like

              • So annoying Jane and having worked in a hospital I know how frequently it happens. My friend’s husband turned up for a hip replacement only to be told an existing patient required extra emergency surgery and they would have to reschedule his op. The trouble with the NHS is everything is run on both tight budgets and manpower so when something out of the ordinary happens people get shunted back because there is no spare capacity. Hope you get sorted soon!

                Like

                • Jo I think I/we decided the right thing and waiting is best. There seemed too many reasons not to go ahead yet. I cannot say thought the hospital was overly busy in my ward though I am sure elsewhere it may have been. Plenty of people stood about looking important but actually not doing anything. I was well treated and everyone was kind so I haven’t any complaints. Just being back in the same situation a year later is not too much fun. But what will, be will be as Doris Day sang so eloquently. Thanks for your kind words 🙂

                  Like

  5. Lots of luck with the surgery Jane and I wish you well in your recovery. Nice pics by the way.
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    Like

  6. Best of luck with the op, and wishing you a speedy recovery. And thanks for the pics, especially the ducks 🙂

    Like

    • Jane, happy to feed your duck fetish. I love them too. Thanks for your best wishes, appreciated. Good luck with the book and everything…catch up soon, Jane. 🙂

      Like

  7. Your brave and cheerful manner is so inspiring. I really hope all goes well and that your recovery is rapid and complete. Will miss you around and be waiting for your return. You may need a voice recorder to keep track of all the ideas you’ll get while unable to write. And who knows, maybe a hospital story will suddenly come to you.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Beth, I do try and keep upbeat as going the other way is of no help to me or anyone. I do get a bit fed-up now and again and it is stressful but I take each day as it comes…no other choice. I shall be chatting to myself a lot I am sure and you are right….plenty of ideas and inspiration for stories in a ward. I will keep you posted of anything dishy when I return. Happy days 🙂

      Like

  8. Rachael Charmley permalink

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery, Jane. 🙂

    Like

    • Many thanks Rachael, I shall be back asap and in touch with you then…keep an eye out. Have a great week. 🙂

      Like

  9. Very best of luck, Jane – we’ll be waiting here patiently for your return 🙂

    Like

  10. Hi Jane, I will be thinking of you. It must be a tremendous relief to have the date for your shoulder operation. It will obviously take some time as you say, but just think what you’ll be able to do afterwards. There’ll be no stopping you.
    As usual all your photos are stunning…wonderful. Happy New Year and keep dry!!

    Like

    • Thanks Phyllis, I appreciate this. I hope you will have a wonderful 2014 and that your writing goes well and the books sell. Enjoyed your blog and new website which I looked at over Xmas. Good luck with it all. 🙂

      Like

  11. Hi Jane, at least there is light at the end of the tunnel now and at least your surgery is planned for now at a time when the evenings are dark and the weather not so good – better than during the summer months. Great photos! I will keep in regular touch and get that book to you as soon as it has been published!

    Jo xx

    Like

    • Many thanks Jo, looking forward to it. We shall chat here again soon or on your blog or FB pages. Hope all goes well for the publication. 🙂

      Like

  12. P.s. love the idea about the MI5 prequel. Tempted to see how much that dictation software talks soyoi can draft it while your arm’s not available…

    Like

    • I don’t know yet, I am still a novice with Windows 8 – hate it so far so I hope that it will be a lovely surprise. Have you used it at all? Cannot be any worse than my own writing, can it? lol

      Like

      • It’s actually pretty easy to use. When someone like me can take it out of the box, turn it on and get it going without having to call tech support or ask for help from my tech savvy husband, it gets a thumbs up in my book. That said, I do find it easier to use with a touch screen than a mouse…but it definitely grows on you!

        Like

        • I shall find out when I get back and am in the mood for it I guess…thanks for this. I shall be in touch when I need an expert then!! Happy days 🙂

          Like

  13. I’ll miss you, Jane, your lovely photos are such a pleasure to see and it won’t be the same without you. But I’ll still be here when you’re up and about again. Sending positive vibes for your speedy and hopefully relatively painless recovery!
    Nicky x

    Like

    • Wonderful, thanks and I shall be popping in to see your blog too. Am reading Murder Fortissimo at the moment and enjoying it. Not too keen on Rest homes now! Have a great week, take care and thanks 🙂

      Like

      • You’ll be fine as long as you avoid any rogue brass instruments, Jane. Take care!

        Like

        • LOL thanks Nicola. Apparently the plate and pins are not the problem but the sort of rope stuff can attract my own bugs and cause infection and so that may well be a problem if it happens. I am going bionic. Lol. Take care, catch up soon. 🙂

          Like

  14. All fingers, toes, and various other body parts crossed that your operations go successfully and for quick healing. Will miss your wit and wisdom, but would rather have you hale and healthy. Be safe and Happy New Year! Cheers!

    Like

  15. So sorry to hear about your shoulder, Jane, and I sincerely hope all goes well with your operation. This is my first visit to your blog and I found your photos and descriptions totally fasinating.

    Like

    • Margaret thanks so much for popping over here so soon. Appreciated. I usually have something writing related for everyone to read but I am tight for time so thought this would suffice. Do send me your links and I will visit when I back from the hospital. Lovely meeting you 🙂

      Like

  16. Please accept my very best wishes for a speedy recovery,

    Like

    • Jose, thanks so much. I appreciate your best wishes and I look forward to chatting to you here again soon. Keep safe and well. Jane x

      Like

  17. Good luck with your surgery, Jane! I hope you have a speedy recovery and can get back to the things you love to do. Oh, and I love your photos. Beautiful!

    Like

    • Susan, thanks so much and I hope things go really well for you and your book. I shall be back in no time….so be naughty whilst you can. I am glad you liked the photos 🙂

      Like

  18. Jane – It is good to hear you’ll be having the operations you need. As you say, it’ll mean a lot of discomfort and inconvenience, but at least it’s for a finite period of time. I hope everything won’t be too awful as you’re going through it. We’ll be thinking of you and don’t worry: I won’t sit under the apple tree with anyone else… 😉
     
    Thanks for the beautiful ‘photos!

    Like

    • I am so glad you won’t be sitting under the apple tree with anyone else but me….there are still wind-falls!! Mind you a bump on the head didn’t do a certain scientist any harm. Thanks for your best wishes, I am sure I shall be fine and the way I see it, I can get the use back but many never can. So upwards and onwards. Glad you liked the photos. I shall still be popping over to read your blog even if I cannot leave a message. I am there in spirit…..ooooaaahhhh! I’m the one in the white sheet.

      Like

      • I will feel your presence, Jane, even if I don’t see a comment from you. You have a terrific attitude towards it all. 🙂

        Like

        • Lol a case of having to Margot. Stuff doesn’t get done by itself and moaning isn’t going to alter a thing. So onwards and upwards and I shall indeed be with you in spirit….I will try and pop and read things I need to catch up with on your blog as soon as I can. By the way, I have had several queries re paperback editions of In A Word: Murder. Any chance of this becoming a reality at some point soon? Hope so. 🙂

          Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

