Skip to content

Under Cover: Flash Fiction 20th September 2013

September 15, 2013
Home to some of the girls 'trafficked' in my story 'Under Cover' (c) Jane Risdon 2011

Home to some of the girls ‘trafficked’ in my story ‘Under Cover’ (c) Jane Risdon 2011

Live link for Under Cover is:  http://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/2013/09/20/flash-fiction-friday-105-under-cover-by-jane-risdon/

Those visiting here frequently will no doubt have noticed I have been away and so these pages have been somewhat quiet for the last few weeks, but that is about to change.  For starters I have a short story published on 20th September at 7pm (UK time) on Morgen Bailey’s writing  blog.

‘Under Cover’ is a 495 word piece of Flash Fiction. Some of you who have read it before have been kind with your comments and requests for the story to be continued – I may well do this once I have researched this difficult topic further.

Meanwhile those of you who are yet to read it, please visit here on Friday 20th at 7pm (UK time) for the live links to Morgen’s blog.

Do please leave a comment on Morgen’s blog (she loves to know you have read the stories she publishes) and also here, so that I can read what you all think of my efforts.

‘Under Cover’ will be Pod-cast by Morgen Bailey on 3rd November at 7pm (UK time) and links will be provided nearer that time.

Many of my other short stories and flash fiction pieces can be found on her blog and these have also been Pod-cast at various times.  They are also on twitter, and various other sites.

Glad to be back and I am looking forward to sharing more stories and little bits of chat with you all again soon.

From → Blog

26 Comments
  1. Hi, Jane, thanks for sharing the short story. It’s a topic that should definitely get more “air time” – if anyone thinks it brutal reading, imagine living it. I have not but do have PTSD as many do who survive such horrible life situations. We are survivors, all, together we shout. See you whenever you can, writer friend 🙂

    Like

    • It was a hard one to write as I cannot really imagine what this must be like to live and what the trauma does to the people suffering this. I was inspired by the recent court cases in Oxford and in the North. I hope I can write some more when time permits. This was a short story and the comments I have received have been very favourable and encouraging with many requests for more and to let them know what happens next, which I may well do but it will need a lot of research I think, to do it justice. I admire anyone who has had to endure terror and abuse be it mental or physical and manages to come out of it seemingly intact, though of course damaged and it will never go away. I just hope and pray that these wicked people who perpetrate these monstrosities are caught and punished and that (dreaming now), this can be eradicated. I think I am hoping one hope too far sadly. We will catch up again soon. Thanks so much for taking time to read this and comment. Much appreciated. 🙂

      Like

      • My own life experience tells me how hard it was to write. Even if we did not walk in the exact shoes of those we write of, we have to have had some experience in the world to write compellingly of such matters.Good for you for doing your research and keeping your voice out there. If we don’t dream, we won’t stay on it. And this is a dream worth writing for. Write on, Jane. 😀

        Like

  2. Good to have you back on board Jane.

    Like

    • Hi Laurie, glad to be back thanks, though not totally here all the time for a while still. I shall be back reading your blog soon and thanks for dropping in. Hoping all is good with you 🙂

      Like

      • Hi Jane, you’re always welcome. there’s plenty to read. I’ve been ill but I’m getting better.
        Cheers
        Laurie.

        Like

        • Sorry you have been ill, hope nothing serious and you are back to your self soon….I shall be over now my computer is fixed and as soon as I am sorted….new formats with Windows 8 and still getting my head around it all. 🙂

          Like

          • Thanks Jane, I hope to find out on Monday exactly what’s going on. Windows 8 is a good platform, very quick and once you learn the differences very good to work with. 🙂

            Like

            • LOL well I am having a bash at it…pressing and clicking like crazy. Hope all goes well for Monday. I have had my first hospital appointment re my broken collar bone and fractured shoulder at last – 9 months after the accident!!…Only three operations to go. ~Will be sending you positive vibes for Monday and always. Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

              Like

              • I think it is the best one they’ve put out, not as buggy as the others. That’s a long time to wait for an appointment, is it giving you much pain? You must have made a mess of it. Thanks for the vibes on Monday, it’s an early start 0615 admission, procedure at 0700. My army blog will pop up on Monday as always, it will be on a timer, so clever. Cheers for now,
                Laurie.

                Like

                • Oh dear I hope all goes well and I shall pop and have a good reading session once I get my head around this. Just spent ages trying to get into the internet – there then gone! It is me! Yes made a mess when I fell down the stairs. Silly woman. Fingers crossed all goes well. I will check to see if you are updating your posts. Big hugs. 🙂

                  Like

                  • Hi Jane, had the procedure now just waiting for the results. Falling down stairs is no good at all, nor losing the internet. You should get an email if you’re following my blog, if not just check the home page and you’ll see the recent posts on the upper right side. Monday, Wednesday and Friday Oz time. Thanks for the hugs Jane. 🙂

                    Like

                    • Fingers crossed all is well. I shall pop across later this afternoon. I was following but all my stuff has changed so not getting notifications for all sorts. Keep well. 🙂

                      Like

                    • Okay, boy you have had trouble eh? 🙂

                      Like

    • Thanks so much Laurie, I shall be back to visit you soon too 🙂

      Like

  3. Look forward to reading and listening to your flash fiction, Jane. Well done 🙂

    Like

    • Sue, thanks so much for dropping in and I hope you enjoy the story on Friday. Let me know. I have not been around much this last few weeks so feeling a little bad about my lack of posts and visits to pages I follow. I will try and catch up soon. Never enough hours in the week! Enjoy your week and let me know what you think on Friday. 🙂

      Like

  4. So glad to see you back, Jane, and very much looking forward to reading your piece!

    Like

    • I am happy to be back (sort of) as I am still awaiting delivery of my new computer and trying to get by with this one which is a bit hit and miss. I shall catch up with your posts as soon as I can sit and enjoy them in peace. I am not around much this week but I do hope to make up for it all soon. I do hope life is good for you and that this week is a good one.

      Like

      • Oh, no fun at all about the computer, but I hope you get it fixed soon.

        Like

        • Oh I have a new one and it is fab, just getting to grips with Windows 8! Under Cover is up and running though I think you have read it before….the waiting list for the publication is quite long so sometimes events overtake and my stories are published elsewhere in the meantime. 🙂 Enjoy the weekend. 🙂

          Like

  5. Thanks for the visit and the like and for sharing my short story Under Cover. I hope you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday Fictioneers: Off His Trolley | A Mixed Bag
  2. Photo Fiction: October 13th 2013 | Alastair's Photo Fiction

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

