Skip to content

The Secret of Willow Cottage and The Tale of the Reluctant Bride – Flash Fiction Friday 5th April 2013

April 5, 2013
Willow Cottage (c) Jane Risdon 2010

Willow Cottage (c) Jane Risdon 2010

It is almost indecent I realise, but I cannot help myself.

I have written another piece of Flash Fiction which is to be published on Morgen Bailey’s Writing Blog on 5th April 2013 at 7pm.

The Secret of Willow Cottage and the Tale of the Reluctant Bride is under 1,000 words. I really enjoyed writing it and I hope you enjoy reading it.

The link is:

 
Secrets revealed (c) Jane Risdon 2012

Secrets revealed (c) Jane Risdon 2012

I do hope you will be kind enough to pay her blog a visit and read my story and let me know what you think, and do please tell Morgen too.  She works hard to help authors and she would love to know that her efforts have been rewarded.  In fact if you write and would love to take advantage of some of her wonderful opportunities I suggest you pop across anyway. 
Events unfold - fates are sealed (c) Jane Risdon 2010

Events unfold – fates are sealed (c) Jane Risdon 2010

If you are a reader and love to discover new authors and see what makes them tick, then the interviews and articles will suit you too.
Autumnal day - A family plot.  (c) Jane Risdon 2011

Autumnal day – A family plot. (c) Jane Risdon 2011

From → Blog

28 Comments
  1. Body in a trunk Jane, how very creepy I love it 🙂

    Like

    • I have just written the story about Sebastian for the follow up Flash Fiction as so many asked me what happened to him. If Morgen likes it I hope she will publish it in May. Did you go to the interview with Nicky on her blog? Links are in my post under blogs on the menu. Let me know.

      Like

  2. Jane, That is a sad story; it reminds me of children locked in refrigerators, etc. Btw, I love your photos. Oh,how is Ms. Birdsong Investigates coming along?

    Like

    • I am glad you liked the story, it moved me when I heard about a young child bride who had hidden in a chest when playing hide and seek, and was locked in and never found – does happen with fridges and so on and at one time it was always in the news where this child of that had been found in fridges etc. Awful. I am glad you like the photos, I must post some more soon. Ms Birdsong is coming on well, she and I have had discussions regarding a little bit of re-writing and after kicking up a bit, she agreed with me that perhaps it might be to her benefit. She is a strong minded woman, as you can imagine; you don’t get to be at the top of your career in MI5 if you are a wilting violet. Nice to hear from you 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi Jane, I don’t know how I missed the link, great flash story indeed. Love, sadness and death always make for a good story.
    Cheers
    Laurie

    Like

  4. Thanks to everyone leaving comments here and on Morgen’s Blog and for all the likes I have received – so heartening to read your comments and to know that you like my stories and the interviews too. Feedback is so important and so welcome – keep the comments coming. Really appreciate you taking time and trouble in your busy lives to spend a little time with me. Many thanks. 🙂

    Like

  5. I read the story of the lost bride. How fascinating and horrifying! Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

    • Kay you are most welcome. I hope that you will return and read some of my other pieces and let me know what you think. Feedback is always welcome and appreciated. Enjoy your weekend and check under the bed tonight! 🙂

      Like

  6. Left a message on Morgan’s page, really enjoyed the story Jane. The De Grouchy family…thought that was going to go somewhere else for a moment he he. Love these type of tales, thanks!

    Like

    • Glad you liked it Michael – wonder where you thought it might go – do tell.

      I just keep my hand in with the Flash Fiction and Short Stories whilst working on the novels….keeps me out of mischief! Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

      Like

  7. Jane – What a great story! I really liked the weaving together of past and present stories, as I mentioned on Morgen’s blog. Such a sad story but it feels authentic. And I love the way you describe that chest. I hope you’ll tell the rest of Sebastian Nugent’s story at some point…

    Like

    • Margot, so happy you liked it. It is hard to convey it all in under 1,000 words. Such as sad tale based on a true story I overheard. I never thought of young Sebastian, but you are right, I should tell his tale too…..thinking cap on.

      Like

      • Looking forward to it, Jane 🙂

        Like

        • Oops! Got to write it now.

          I’ve been enjoying your recent posts and am digesting them – always so interesting and I find I need to read and consider them as they are so thoughtful and thought provoking. I get very tempted to comment but I know I go on too much, so am resisting in case I drive you nuts.

          Like

          • No worries – I like to read your thoughts, and thanks for the kind words. 🙂

            Like

            • Thanks for that. I shall comment soon when I get my head back into gear.
              You would have loved the author evening at the local library on Wednesday. We had Simon Brett who has written 89 books and produced TV and Radio plays and written scripts for many famous comedians and actors. He was really funny and entertaining and I love his books so it was good to see him and hear what he had to say. His main character is an out of work actor cum detective, Charlie Parish and he also has a female main character, Mrs Pargetta. Goes back to the post you wrote a few weeks back about setting the scene in normality and having everyday events and real people with real situations in the stories. He has humour in his stories too.

              Like

              • Oh, sounds a lovely evening! I’d have loved to be there. I do like Brett’s work a lot.

                Like

                • We are so lucky with our local library, it is a village one, tiny and well used. We have a small budget but seem to get writers of all genres from all over the world. I think I said we had Sara Paretsky last year, Peter James and John Connolly to name a few. You would have had a good laugh as all these have been wonderful. I even got my friend Christina Jones to do two author evenings because the librarians are her biggest fans much to her embarrassment.

                  Like

                  • Sounds wonderful! You are indeed lucky!

                    Like

                    • We are. The building is tiny, the budgets are tiny and the staff work hard to involve kids and babies and everyone in all sorts of activities and events. Over 100 people were there on Wednesday evening and Simon had come about 80 miles for the event and only got his petrol money I am sure. I am so happy we have such wonderful librarians with imagination and a County Council who seem happy to keep them open when so many are being closed due to budget cuts.

                      Like

                    • What a model for other libraries and communities!

                      Like

                    • Indeed.

                      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

