Skip to content

Pod-Cast of The Honey Trap is live now at http://feeds.feedburner.com/BaileysWritingTips

March 24, 2013
The Honey trap (c) Jane Risdon 2012

The Honey Trap, Pod-cast 24th March 2013 – details are below
(c) Jane Risdon 2012

Morgen Bailey’s Pod-Cast of my Flash Fiction Story, ‘The Honey Trap,’ is available now – follow this link and scroll down to 24th March 2013, episode #022.  Mine is the second story Morgen is reading.  There are three altogether.

http://feeds.feedburner.com/BaileysWritingTips

If you scroll back up to 2nd January 2012 episode #004, you will find the Pod-Cast of my Flash Fiction Story, ‘The White Witch of England,’ which is also the second story read by Morgen.

The White Witch of England, Pod-Cast 2nd January 2012 - links on my blog-roll

The White Witch of England, Pod-Cast 2nd January 2012 – links on my blog-roll

‘The Honey Trap,’  will also be Pod-cast 7pm UK time on iTunes and several other Pod-Cast outlets listed on Morgen’s pages. The link for iTunes is:

iTunes

As well as (when they catch up – always a bit slow adding new Pod-Casts) so be prepared to wait.  Podcast Alley does not list the stories so you need to have a look around:

Podbean

Podcasters

Podcast Alley

I do hope you enjoy my story and will let me (and Morgen), know what you think. 

Thanks so much for visiting and taking time to read my stories and (hopefully), my Pod-Casts.

From → Blog

38 Comments
  1. That is the first time I have heard one of these podcasts, quite an experience 🙂 I enjoyed The honey trap and also The white witch of England, I seriously cannot write short stories. Well done Jane 🙂

    Like

    • The pod-casts are fun and get a lot of exposure Linda, perhaps you can do some for yourself. Morgen was reading them, not me. I might have a go at some point of recording some of my stories myself. Glad you enjoyed them. I only do short stories and flash fiction when the urge takes me! Novels are where I am happiest. Writing with a limited word count makes you really think hard about use of words and getting the message over in a brisk but interesting way. Try it.

      Like

      • I honestly don’t think I could do a short story or submit to a podcast, I get really nervous when people read my work, I’m glad it all goes through my publisher now. At least that way I limit the bad comments to one person lol

        Like

        • True, but Flash Fiction pieces are fun to do and makes me really concentrate on the use of words as I said before. My novel is not out there. The stories I had published in books are short stories since that is what was required. They were fun to do. I am sure you won’t be getting any bad feed-back. So far neither have I but I am sure I shall…..you cannot please everyone. Don’t try either….please yourself.

          Like

      • It’s great to see so many comments here. I know Jane is tireless. 🙂 I’ll be doing a blog post on podcasting in the not too distant future (following a request to do so) so hopefully that will be of use to those tempted.

        Like

        • Morgen, I was hoping that some of the visitors here would sign up to your various activities as there are so many useful tips and places to gain exposure on our blog. I try and link you in as often as I can….the feature on pod-casting would be great. 🙂

          Like

          • Thank you, Jane. I do get some through. 🙂

            Like

          • PS. I try and do a ‘from me’ post every week but usually run out of time. I’m doing a pen review(!) tonight then next week will probably on taxes(!) then podcasting the week after. That way I get two weeks to prepare properly and make it detailed so it can be used as a guide thereafter.

            Like

            • You make me feel worn out just reading what you get up to. Don’t over-do it. Good luck with your reviews and tax yuk! I am having another blog interview on 9th with Carol Bond over on The Unseen Promise and there are links (yours) on that as well. Enjoy your evening. A bottle of wine might help!

              Like

              • 😀 Nice thought but I don’t drink wine (usually something stronger) but even better – writing group.

                Like

                • Oh I am find of Scotch too…..we could do the scotch justice.

                  Like

                  • I prefer variations (JD / Southern Comfort – can’t bring myself to call it SoCo!) but hooked on Disaronno. That said I probably have one a month. 🙂

                    Like

                    • JD, Jim Beam, Southern Comfort and all the various scotches….yep….like most shorts. I rarely get a drink except if someone brings me a gift.

                      Like

  2. Thank you, the Honey Trap is fascinating and very well written, but not suitable for my YA blog about bees and honey recipes! Very nice, Jane, thank you.

    Like

    • I agree with you Kenna, no worries. I had a little giggle to myself at the lack of bees. Another story there perhaps….hmm. 🙂

      Like

  3. Jane, thank you for liking my flash fiction, The Sea and His Guitar. I’m intrigued by The Honey Trap as I’ve been featuring honey related themes on my blog. Perhaps I could put a link to The Honey Trap on my blog as a means of furthering the bee/honey related theme?

    Like

    • Am happy you enjoyed it Kenna, and I have really enjoyed your FF too….the story is not really about Honey….a Honey Trap is what was used in the Cold War to entice spies of both sides to become ‘compromised,’ and therefore ‘turned,’ to work as a double agent…a girl was used to entrap them….hence Honey trap. No bees were used in the making of this Flash Fiction! LOL xx

      Like

  4. supernova permalink

    Hi Jane, I loved “The Honey Trap” in no time at all I was captivated by the story and like your husband, I had a picture in my head – superb! Great to meet you Jane and I am really looking forward to reading more. Thank you. Speak soon and my best regards, James:-)

    Like

    • James, thanks so much for your kind words and for taking time to read my work and comment. Really appreciate it, when I know how busy people are. I do hope you do return here and please let me know your thoughts on anything else as it helps me no end.
      I am thinking about writing another Flash Fiction piece to follow on from The Secret of Willow Cottage as several people have asked what happened to Sebastian Nugent and wanted to hear his story….so I may well be working on that soon.
      I shall be over to visit your pages soon. Thanks again, appreciate your visit. 🙂

      Like

    • I love to captivate!! So happy you enjoyed it, thanks so much for reading it and commenting. Not only do I write crime novels, I also do the odd Flash Fiction piece and short stories so always something on the go. I often write humour (if you have my weird sense of humour that is – you’ll get it), and today I posted a short story I wrote a while back called The Black Bird which came to mind again after a blogging exchange with a fellow writer. I’ve placed it under Tasters, #7 – so if inclined take a look and let me know what you think. Appreciate your opinion. 🙂

      Like

      • supernova permalink

        Hi Jane, sounds good and it will be my pleasure 🙂 Thank you for valuing my opinion 🙂

        Like

        • My pleasure. Thanks. 🙂

          Like

          • Susan, I’ve looked and can see your comment here but do you mean on Joanna’s blog where the original interview is posted? I will look again and if you did respond I am so sorry if I missed you and did not reply. I am getting new glasses in the week…so I should be able to find my way around by then!

            Like

  5. A nice shock, I hope, Jane. 🙂

    Like

    • A very nice shock Morgen. I heard it in my head so often and in my own voice that when you read it I really did feel shocked. Another voice and a different ‘feel,’ to the story that made me listen with fresh ears. Same with The Honey Trap, my husband heard it and said the same thing, it was a surprise to hear another voice speaking my words. He had always heard my voice in his head when reading it. He really enjoyed hearing both my stories and the others as well. 🙂

      Like

      • Nice shocks are good. 🙂 It’s funny how other people interpret our stories. It’s a shame we can’t be there when a reader reads our work. Maybe that’s tomorrow’s technology. 🙂

        Like

        • I agree, though I do get feedback from my husband who has every story soon after I’ve written them and he is good at pulling them to bits for me. He seems to get what I mean, but then after 45 years it would be strange if he didn’t. He has just read the the Flash Fiction story you are publishing on 5th and loved it, so I am very happy. He says he hears my voice in his head when reading them and can picture them too.

          Like

  6. Not the ending I expected Jane. Well done…it is nice to hear someone else reading your work and know that others are enjoying it.

    Like

    • I hope people like it, after reading it aloud as I write it is strange to hear another person’s voice speaking my words. I am glad the ending was unexpected, that was the point. I like to write a twist in the tale……for those familiar with my stories it is not that unexpected! The story was also published on Morgen’s Blog in November 2012 and I wondered if it would retain the feel when spoken out loud. I have had another Flash Fiction story pod-cast by her (Jan 2012) and I remember that coming across as a bit of a shock at first.

      Like

  7. Not what I was expecting from the title ‘The Honey Trap’ Jane, very intriging, I liked it!

    Like

    • I expect all the bee keepers have been popping over to listen! I always have a twist in the tail Michael, so hope you enjoyed it and will read/listen to others of my stories at some point. Thanks for the visit.

      Like

  8. Jane – Yay! Thanks for putting up this link 🙂

    Like

    • Hope you liked it Margot. Very different experience hearing Morgen read it out loud. I’ve just written another FF story which should appear soon; called The Secret of Willow Cottage and The Reluctant Bride…..so when it is published I’ll let you know. Thanks so much for popping in. Just seen a wonderful documentary by David Suchet (Poirot), all about Agatha Christie and her life and writing, with interviews featuring family and friends and the man who created the artwork for her books from 1962-1982. I will find the channel info for you as I am sure you will love it. J x

      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

