Skip to content

One Year Old Today – My Blog is a Toddler.

February 12, 2013
Building bridges between us all (c) Jane Risdon 2013

Building bridges between us all (c) Jane Risdon 2013

I’ve just been informed by WordPress that today my blog has become a toddler and is ONE YEAR OLD. 

Possibly not quite potty trained – am working on it – and still staggering around with my nappy (diaper) dangling between my knees,  I am growing up and I am growing my followers and friends here, so all that patience is starting to pay off.

Wet behind the ears – and possibly elsewhere being a toddler – I am gradually getting the hang of this blogging lark and I really enjoy it.  I have made so many new friends and contacts during my year….in the virtual world I agree, but I still feel they (you) are friends and I value your exchanges with me and our little chats.

It is so wonderful to find something in common with so many diverse people in so many different countries and walks of life.  If I stood in the check out queue of a store, or in a pub all day long I don’t think I would meet such an interesting and exciting type of person.  Mind you, if we were hanging out in a library or a book store, it might well be a different matter.

Anyway, I just wanted to thank each and every one of you who has taken the time to call in here, have a wander around and a chat with me about this and that.  It has been a blast and I have really loved visiting your blogs and author pages and seeing what you get up to when I am  not keeping an eye on you.

Today is not just my blog’s first birthday, it is OUR first birthday too.  The first anniversary of getting together here and making connections. It is great to connect and I hope we keep on doing it;  building bridges across the miles.

Thanks so much for giving me this opportunity to discover so many new and interesting people and allowing me to make you my friends.  I’m getting the bubbly out, bring a glass along next time and we can raise a toast to each other.  Long may we toddle around other and over bridges.  Meanwhile I’ll just have a quick slurp of vino collapso – it is my party!

The Honey trap (c) Jane Risdon 2012

(c) Jane Risdon 2012

This time next year I’ll be in big girl pants!

From → Blog

12 Comments
  1. Jane, you are like a breath of fresh air. Have been feeling down in the dumps (after flu and the never-ending need of The Bank of Mum and Dad). I can picture you with your one-year-old Blog, running around in your ‘big girl pants.! It is, as ever, a real pleasure to know you. Hope you are celebrating Valentine’s Day: Jim and I had a bottle of champers to sink tonight, but with me getting over the flu and my husband still in the throes, we will leave it for a while…but cheers anyway.

    Like

    • So glad I can entertain a little Phyllis…I try. I hope you feel better soon, being ill can bring your mood down as well and it is hard getting it back to normal afterwards, the weather not helping either.

      Enjoy your celebrations tonight if you can or whenever you get round to it, and relax. I hope your husband recovers and can manage a few toasts. I won’t be celebrating as my husband is thousands of miles away – alone on is birthday too! But I will be thinking of him as ever and I know he knows that. Both get well soon and thanks for the support, always appreciated. xx

      Like

  2. Great idea and great piece, I enjoyed reading your birthday page. Well done and I’m looking forward to your year ahead!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Michael, I am glad. I am enjoying reading your blog too and I shall be back to read the piece you suggested as soon as I get time to clear the little grey cells and concentrate on some serious stuff. It looks as if it is going to be fascinating.

      Like

  3. LOL, love it. You’ll be potty training next! Joking aside, it’s been lovely to connect with you, Jane, and thanks for all the great post. Keep rocking…and blogging!

    Like

    • Nicky thanks for being such a great supporter too…I enjoy our exchanges and giggles. I promise I shall be in big girl’s pants this time next year and when I have a drink there won’t be any accidents! Besides wearing a nappy (a wet one) is not good for the image – not very rock and roll…but then I hear Elvis made them all the rage at one time!

      Like

  4. Jane – Congratulations on a year of blogging! I’m so glad you decided to start this blog. I get new ideas and interesting perspectives every time I visit. And it’s very nice to connect with someone who understands what it is to be a writer.

    Like

    • Margot, thanks for your support and kind words. I look to you as an example of what a writer is and how a blogger should create a space for people to join in and experience all the things they have in common, where they can discuss their points of view and learn and help inform each other. When I can accomplish what you have, I shall feel worthy of such kind words. I enjoy chatting to you and reading your blog so much. Thanks for taking time out of your busy life to stop here for a while. Appreciated.

      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

