Skip to content

The Look – background information

January 9, 2013

In May 2012 I was invited to contribute a short story for an anthology being published in aid of three charities:  Breakthrough, Women for Women and Women’s Aid. 

I Am Woman (volume 1)  features contributions from female writers and poets from all over the world, and you can see by the charities benefiting, that they work to help women who have been abused – mentally and physically, and who have no voice – either because of  poverty or political restraints, domestic violence or lack of education and opportunities for example.

Featuring The Look

Featuring The Look

 

I am very proud to have been asked to write a story for this book and I hope you will take time to visit amazon.co.uk, or amazon.com and have a peak inside the anthology to have a preview of some of the stories and poems, with a view to purchasing a copy.

None of the writers benefits financially from the sale of their work.

I Am Woman is available via these links:

amzn.to/MDkDc6

amazon.co.uk/The-Woman-Anthology…

My story is called The Look – and is a story about Social Networking, murder and revenge.  The story highlights the dangers of making ‘friends’ with unseen strangers – is anyone who they actually appear to be?

I am toying with the idea of making this into a novel, possibly a series, at some point.  let me know what you think.

I Am Woman campaign can be found at:

amzn.to/MDkDc6

The river where events take place in The Look. (c) Jane Risdon 2011

The river where events take place in The Look. (c) Jane Risdon 2011

From → Blog

6 Comments
  1. Congratulations, Jane! I’ll definitely check it out as soon as I can. You rock!

    Like

    • Thanks Nicky but at the moment it is a case of rolling to get out of bed, rolling to sit in a chair and if I end up on the floor….I have to roll to get to something to hold on to to get up! The rock n roll life is not what it is cracked up to be!

      Like

  2. Jane – I really respect you for contributing stories for anthologies like this. I’ll definitely look out for it.

    Like

    • Thanks so much Margot, and please do. There are some wonderful contributions and some are from successful authors and there are poems too…from all around the world. I try to do my little bit and of course I am aiming to put material out for sale one day soon…but I think the causes are worthwhile. The Hospice (Telling Tales) anthology benefited a lot to, so I am happy. There are contributions in TT by successful authors and poets who kindly donated material as well x

      Like

  3. Hi Jane,
    I bought this book when it was first out and enjoyed it…love the pic in this blog too. The water looks very inviting! Happy writing my friend. xx

    Like

    • Hi Jo thanks for reading….glad you enjoyed it. There is a volume 2 out as well. I am not in this one but may well be in the 3rd if it goes ahead. Glad you liked the photo…you know me and my walks and photos…great for inspiration. Happy writing to you too and I hope readers here will visit your wonderful blog too. xx

      Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

