Skip to content

More Photos Taken By Me At Various Times Of The RMA

July 11, 2012

As promised I am posting a few more photos taken on various occasions at the RMA Sandhurst.  I hope you like them, let me know.  I would like to remind everyone that all my photographs are (c) Jane Risdon 2012 (all rights reserved) – thanks.

Image

Polo match about to begin featuring the RMA team and a guest team.  It was fast and furious and the RMA won.

Image

Hunting with hounds – no fox you will be relieved to hear…this was drag hunting and was for demonstration purposes only.

Image

This beautiful swan took an interest in me when I was taking photos and followed me all along the lake edge and eventually came right up to me….no fear at all.

Image

This fellow seemed to be posing for me as I photographed him….he also followed me around for a while – no doubt hoping I had food!

Image

This statue of Queen Victoria was placed here from its former home in Woollage, London, in 1947.  A former boyfriend of my mother’s (before she married of course) transported this from London to the RMA and teased her by telling her that he had been followed all the way to the RMA the previous day, by a woman!  Eventually, after careful examination and interrogation he admitted the woman was elderly and a widow and a bit heavy for his liking – then when he had teased her enough, he explained what he had been doing.  So every time we (the family) see the statue we have a little giggle.

Image

This is a demonstration of a typical Gurkha courtship dance – the Gurkha soldiers based at the RMA and their families take part in many events on Heritage Day and on other occasions and are a huge part of life in the surrounding villages also.

Image

One of the huge and many guns situated around the RMA which have either been used or captured in various famous battles where the RMA Officers and Great Britain have been involved over many hundreds of years.

Image

Each Adjutant at the RMA has his own white horse which is famous for being seen ridden up the main entrance steps to the Old College during Passing Out Parades – when the Officer Cadets Pass Out of the RMA.  Over 200 years there have been many and each is buried in the grounds at the base of trees.  There are several horses buried and remembered here as you will note.  These horse, always white, are called Chargers.

Image

Cricket is a must at the RMA and this is the Cricket Pavilion where the RMA team play visiting teams.  a great place for a picnic on Heritage Day.

Image

This is the house where HRH The Princess Royal, Princess Anne and her former husband Captain Mark Phillips lived when he was stationed at the RMA in the 1970’s.  This house is not far from the entrance to the RMA from Sandhurst.

I hope you enjoy my photos and that you will respect my wishes re the copyright of each photograph shown on my Blog.

From → Blog

7 Comments
  1. Peter permalink

    Jane, wonderful photos and interesting information. Please keep informing us – really enjoy your Blog ………….. Peter

    Like

    • Hi Peter,

      Thanks so much for liking my blog and I am glad you like the photos and the little bits of info….perhaps I can visit yours? You didn’t leave any info for me….

      Like

      • Peter permalink

        Thanks Jane, I do not have a blog!!!
        I have never found the need, and from a social point of view I find Facebook adequate for my limited verbal out pourings, coupled with e-mails to a limited range of bodies – mainly family and friends.
        I do hope this will not hamper our connection……..

        Regards

        Peter

        Like

        • Hi Peter, It should be OK….not a problem at all. This is meant to be my author blog and I do bits and pieces about other stuff from time to time, just to stop it being too boring (at least that is the aim)…so by all means pop by and join in, comments are always welcome.

          I was advised by all the other writers I know to have a blog and at first the whole thing filled me with fear – what the hell do I write about? I took advice and read blogs by my contemporaries and thought if they can do it so can I….so here we are…..pop back soon and chat. x

          Like

    • Hi Peter, long time no news from you. How are you? Do pop by again soon….I shall be updating in the next couple of weeks. So far my 2 works in progress have been taking up all my time and energies. Drop by and leave a comment as it is good to hear from you…..have a great week.

      Like

      • Peter permalink

        Thanks Jane, I’m fine just started a Watercolour picture as Christmas present for a friend – will show you when it’s done. The ‘duck’ has not moved for a week or two.
        I will be back soon to check what you are up to……

        Like

        • Ok no problem Peter…hope all is well. Xmas already – grief! Love to see your friend’s gift when he has had it of course. Take care and do come back as I will be adding photos from time to time and I would love your opinion. Enjoy the week. xx

          Like

Please leave a reply and comment - your input is really appreciated. Thanks, Jane

